Food for thought

in #quotes7 years ago

"No, no matter what the mullah teaches,there is only one. Ans that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft. Do you understand that?"
"No, Baba jan," I said, desperately wishing I did. I didn't want to disappoint him again.
Baba heaved a sigh of impatience. That stung too, because he was not an impatient man.I remembered all the times he didn't come home until after dark, all the times i ate dinner alone. I'd ask Ali where Baba was, when he was coming home though I knew full well he was at the construction site, overlooking this, supervising that. Didn't that take patience? I already hated all the kids he was building the orphanage for; sometimes I'd wish they'd all died along with their parents.
"When you kill a man, you steal a life," Baba said. " You steal his wife's right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone's right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness. Do you see."

-The Kite Runner- Khaled Hosseini
my favorite bit from my favorite book.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38