Quote of the Day #101: Poverty is the Worst Form of Violence

in #quoteoftheday7 years ago (edited)

Gandhi once said, "Poverty is the worst form of violence."

IMG_2022.jpg

What's great about quotes is that we naturally take the words out of context because it just needs more explanation.

With that, there's plenty of different opinions on plenty of different quotes.

What should be clear to many is that, opinions don't matter, but I'm interested in others' thought process and how they break it down.

I'll give you my context of the quote.

I grew up in ghetto neighborhoods, in America. I've got to throw that in there because what I know as poverty is not a severe as some of the third world countries.

According to The U.S. Census Bureau, the average income in the U.S. is $53,889, anything below that in my opinion is mediocre (below average), and that's what I consider poverty.

I definitely would agree with Gandhi, that being below average finance-wise, is an extremely violent place. Always worrying about bills, penny pinching, and scrapping your funds together to cover your obligations. That causes people to do things like rob banks, or other people personally, sell drugs for larger and quicker income.

Extreme violence.

How difficult is it for a person in that situation to support his family, community, friends, church, etc., when they can barely support themselves.

With my opinion being out there...

What does the quote mean to you?

Feel free to RESTEEM and follow
@aaronsthilaire

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42