Literary Quote of the Day : Susan SontagsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #quote7 years ago

On reading, and the importance of books:



*A little backstory: I was going through some of my old books earlier, and picked up an old copy of Susan Sontag. The contact immediately reminded me of one afternoon when a coworker and I were trying to get to know one another and decided to visit downtown San Mateo for a meal. Afterwards, we decided to browse through one of the last standing bookshops in the area. As I excitedly stacked my pickings, she balked at my choices, stating that novels and literature was a waste of time. She haughtily flaunted her selection of self-help and pop-psychology, and stated, "Now, these are what you should be reading."

I held my tongue and bought my stack. One of the books I took home that day is Susan Sontag's book which I now hold in my hand.

Thanks for stopping by And until next time!
Cheers, @shalala


Sort:  

Which Sontag's book is the quote taken from?

Hi @gurney! Great question, quote is from "When the Stress Falls: Essays." Are you a Sontag fan?

Can't say I am but I had read On Photography in college.

Oh same here! I suppose "On Photography" is a standard intro/starting point to Sontag's work. Her observations, 40 (?) or so years go, was so on point with our society today...

"Needing to have reality confirmed and experience enhanced by photographs is an aesthetic consumerism to which everyone is now addicted." ~ S.S.

Indeed, rather eeire when you think of today's context, with everyone's experiences being reduced to visual snapshots. Damn, I need to reread that book again. Thanks for reminding it to me!

You've got talent!

I am in love with this quote! That's the way I feel as well, it's a study of the human condition. Resteemed!

Hi @sarahtops9000! Nice to meet you. Thanks for stopping by, and resteeming. Very much appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63