You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Papa Rodin Quotes #1 - The Joker

in #quote6 years ago

And they were definitively worth it. And we still have Movies like that these days that never stop to entertain one way or another.

And even bad movies have moments that are great. I was no fan of Batman Vs Superman, for example, but the movie had it's moments.

Sort:  

Sure but I prefer art rather than pure entertainment

What movie do you consider to be art?

Pulp Fiction, Goodfellas, Taxi Driver, Clockwork Orange, The Godfather, Rear Window, Sunset Boulevard, City Lights, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, Bicycle Thieves........

Pulp Fiction really is a gem of a movie.

If I were to be asked why that is the case, I would say because it has so much flavor while not following any formular.

I kind of agree with both of you. For me personally, Pulp Fiction is without doubt the best movie of all times. I also understand you having a weak spot for B-class movies from the past (but maybe don't watch them now because what you have in memory might be in fact much better then what you would experience by watching them today).

I also can't remember any outstanding movie from the last decade. On the other hand, it is not all so bad: there are several really great series from the last few years. Obviously, the longer footage of series provides the authors with more room to play with the development of the plot and the viewers can better identify themselves with their favorite characters. I am personally watching much more often series than movies these days (which I would not predict 20 years ago).

I could name a couple of movies that I personally consider to be masterpieces. I would be aware of the fact that this would be highly subjective coming from me in that way.

Black Panther for example was one of the best movies I have ever seen and I was literally waiting for years for that movie to finally happen. Glad that I wasn't disappointed.

I also apploud Infinity Wars, but less for how good the movie itself was but for much of an effort it must have been to realize that film in the first place.

The Hangover Movie, the first one was great because the comedy concept behind it was somewhat fresh and well executed.

Series and shows, I gotta say that I have cooled down on that quite a bit. There are some that I deeply enjoyed in the past though, for different reasons. Fresh Prince of Bel Air is a timeless classic in my book and I could watch it over and over again. Cowboy Bebop is one of the greatest Anime of all time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65