Super Quotes #47 : Fyodor Dostoyevsky


SOURCE

He vividly recalled those old doubts and perplexities, and it seemed to him that it was no mere chance that he recalled them now. It struck him as strange and grotesque, that he should have stopped at the same spot as before, as though he actually imagined he could think the same thoughts, be interested in the same theories and pictures that had interested him ... so short a time ago. He felt it almost amusing, and yet it wrung his heart. ...It seemed to him, he had cut himself off from everyone and from everything at that moment.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky


RESOURCE


Found below in my comments to this post are more quotes by Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

Feel free to vote up the quotes in the comments that you like the most. Vote them all up if you like them equally :)

Sort:  

الإنسان هى أن يعرف كيف يقتصر فى الحياة على

إن أكبر مأثرة من مآثر

أعرف أن أحد كتابكم قال فى كتاب

القيام بدور «كومبارس

But what about me? I suffer, but still, I don’t live. I am x in an indeterminate equation. I am a sort of phantom in life who has lost all beginning and end, and who has even forgotten his own name. You are laughing- no, you are not laughing, you are angry again.

You are forever angry, all you care about is intelligence, but I repeat again that I would give away all this superstellar life, all the ranks and honours, simply to be transformed into the soul of a merchant’s wife weighing eighteen stone and set candles at God’s shrine.

Dear friends, don't be afraid of life! How good is life when one does something good and just!

I hated them horribly, though perhaps I was worse than any of them. They repaid me in the same way, and did not conceal their aversion for me. But by then I did not desire their affection: on the contrary, I continually longed for their humiliation.

For the secret of man's being is not only to live but to have something to live for.

Without a stable conception of the object of life, man would not consent to go on living, and would rather destroy himself than remain on earth, though he had bread in abundance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72