Clear the clutter! Question of the day!

in #question7 years ago

One of the first things I am doing in July is clearing cluttler. Not too long ago, I read a meme about stress. The key to dealing with stress is identifying the source and then getting rid of it. One of the things stressing me out right now is the amount of clutter there is in my home. The pic is from PIXABAY, that is not my home. The clutter I have is 25 years worth of moving around the country with the US Navy. I have boxes that I have not opened for over 20 years. They just keep getting moved and stored. Some of you may advise to just donate them uopened since I have been getting along well enough without it all but there could be very special things in those boxes that I have forgotten I have and would cherish or that pack a ton of sentimental value.

It is for that reason that I will be opening these boxes with three boxes nearby. Repack, since we are looking at buying a new home soon, donate to GoodWill/Amvets/SalvationArmy, and finally trash. There just cannot be any middle ground. I NEED to downsize my life.

Today's question is this:

How much of the stuff in your life is actually necessary? What percentage?

Sort:  

Actually necessary? 50%
Make life more enjoyable 40%
Clutter/unnecessary 10%
If you really think about it, a TV isn't necessary or a microwave, or closet full of clothes that you seldom, if ever wear.
I retired from the U.S. Coast Guard 22 years ago and moved to Northern Michigan. 10 years later we sold our house and moved to Indiana. It was amazing as we cleared out the storage shed how many boxes had never been opened from that retirement move. Now I have boxes that I haven't opened in the 10 years we've lived here. I guess it's time to start sorting and tossing myself.
I went back and read some of your previous posts and I think you are going to do well here on Steemit. You should be able to meet your $100.00 a day with your writing style. Hope you'll let us know when it happens.

Thank you for the compliment and thank you for your service. We did 24 years in the US Navy and just have so much. I am hoping that I develope a following here. My blog sits at about 40,000 page views now. It's taken some work to get it that far but I am willing to put in the time here! Were you all the way up in the UP?

No we were in small town outside of Cadillac, about an hour south of Traverse City.

Hi there thank you so much for sharing this! I just started my personal 30 Day De-Cluttering Challenge yesterday! It's been a real paradigm shift for me and reading posts like yours is encouraging and I have new things to think about.

Thanks again and keep up the great content! Upvoted!

I know how you feel because I have so many clothes and dresses which I have not touched in 10 years! Really good question to ponder "how much in your life is actually necessary?"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90