Which STEEM-based dApp will first Catch the Attention of the Mainstream?

in #question6 years ago (edited)

View the original post on Musing.io

What a great question! This is something I've pondered myself, not only in regards to the STEEM blockchain, but others as well like EOS.

The current advantages of STEEM

I have only been a user of dApps on Ethereum, EOS, & STEEM. Completely from the perspective of a user (I'm not super technical in the world of blockchain,) STEEM is currently my favorite - and here's why.

Ethereum has an issue from a user standpoint. Anytime someone wants to take an action on a dApp, they have to spend ETH. Unless the dApp companies foot the bill (which, why would they want to - especially since many of them are startups,) the user has to. This is a problem for adoption.

EOS has improved upon this issue by allowing users to stake their EOS in exchange for resources on the platform (like CPU & Bandwidth.) While I'm not spending my EOS, I can choose to unstake it at any time and get it back into my wallet within 3 days. Here's the issue though: I currently have 20 EOS stake to play a game called EOS Knights, as it requires a LOT of CPU resources to play. I use this dApp daily. What happens when I want to start using a new program on the EOS platform (like Dan's upcoming version of Steemit on EOS,) now do I have to stake even more EOS simply to use it? This is like continuously upgrading a virtual computer to be able to run new software. EOS has another problem too, because users can stake resources for use - we've had a lot of issues with spamming. At least 3 times in the past 2 weeks, I was unable to play EOS Knights for 6+ hours because someone staked ~$200k worth of EOS and essentially perform a denial-of-service type attack, freezing everything. Not cool.

STEEM is great. You don't need any coins to start using dApps on the platform and there's a LOT more of them available with a LOT more users. It's important to remember, however, that STEEM markets itself as a social media blockchain, so I don't expect to see too many games here (although I just discovered STEEM Monsters!)

So, Which STEEM-based dApp will first catch the attention of the mainstream?

Honestly, I feel as if this dApp has yet to be developed. I've been impressed with the development of products on here (like Musing, Steemit, Steepshot, etc.) However, I'm not sure a dApp that is simply a decentralized version of an existing centralized product is going to catch the attention of the mainstream. 

Here are some qualities I think this new mass-adoption dApp will have:

  • A new & original product (not a decentralized clone of something else.)
  • A beautiful & user friendly UI
  • A communicative development team that pushes updates regularly
  • A mobile version (iOS/Android)
  • Keeps the STEEM/SP/SBD workings in the background (when considering mass-adoption, this system is going to confuse the average person.) The dApp should automate these ratios and make decisions for the average user. At the same time, however, people who want should be able to "go under the hood," so to speak, and modify these settings.

So far, I think Musing is doing a great job and I love the Steemit integration. While I'm not a developer in anyway, I do have an idea for a STEEM app I'd love to execute. Just not something I can do alone however.

LMK your thoughts! 

Sort:  

Depending on what you said: I think probably @eSteem, it's easier to use than steemit for new comers. and things it doesn't support are not needed by them. it still lack a point or two from the mass adoption requirements though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23