What Feature would you like to see added to Musing?

in #question6 years ago (edited)


View this answer on Musing.io

Product: Definition, Scope, & Development

I feel a little weird answering this question, but I definitely want to at the same time. The reason I feel weird is because the Musing team has clearly defined their product (comparing it to websites like Quora & Yahoo! Answers) and the first thing your question makes me think of is something many would probably see as out-of-scope for Musing.

What I Like About Musing

I've never used a website like Quora or Yahoo! Answers, yet I'm incredibly active on Musing. Why? I can think of several immediate reasons, although there are probably more:

  • Musing Has A Community - the very nature of being able to mirror one's answers to questions on this app, to your personal Steemit blog, creates a sense of community. We're here from Steemit, we're not random/spontaneous people popping in from anywhere to answer a question, like on Quora.
  • I'm a dApp Advocate - While I've been into crypto since 2012, I didn't really pull the trigger on becoming a dApp user until I was banned from YouTube and 2/3 of my content was deleted. Now, I'm all in.
  • I Support STEEM Over Other Decentralized Platforms - This is only how I feel currently, therefore my thoughts on this may change. However, I can simply sum it up like this: ETH requires you to pay for smart transactions, EOS requires you to stake for resources, and STEEM allows you to play for free (currently creating the least barrier for entry.) This may all change.

What I'd Like To See Added to Musing

Okay, here's the weird part (and the true answer to your question.) This idea exceeds the product's current definition & scope - and may be better suited as a different dApp entirely (shame I'm not a Developer.)

The Lost Art of Video Responses

In 2015, I made a video arguing against the removal of the "video response" feature on YouTube. Remember that? This pre-Google, and when most of YouTube was populated by casual VLogs (unlike today where a lot of content has a higher level of production value or is framed like a TV show, rather than someone simply speaking in front of a camera.)

In application, the feature was similar to Musing in that someone would ask a question - or - pose a statement/opinion and ask for feedback. It created (mostly) genuine conversation in a more personable way (via video rather than text.)

I'd love a video feature embedded into Musing.

If not, and you have experience in writing & deploying apps on STEEM, tweet me @stevecronin

What Do You Think?

Out of scope for Musing? Should it be its own thing? Is it a ridiculous idea in the first place and there's a reason why Google opened fire on this feature in the first place? Lol, let me know :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66