Upvotes Affecting Author $ Rewards Question

in #question8 years ago (edited)

Curation Effects

I've noticed when upvoting (curating) a post that the authors $ reward will decrease rather than increase. I am wondering if anyone else has noticed this phenomenon? Is it related to my voting power? Is it related to the number of votes I cast?

I am equally amazed that sometimes my vote can add a significant amount to a post.

I vote based on the content of the post and I vote very conservatively, usually no more than 5 times per day. I am hesitant to upvote someone if my vote penalizes them financially.

If there is anyone out there that can shed more light on this or refer me to articles already published, it would be greatly appreciated.

steemit.chat user masterinvestor.

Sort:  

Good question! Fortunately, your vote is never the reason the payout decreases. There are a couple reasons the payout could decrease; the biggest one is that it is in a race with all the other posts for payouts. If a whale just pushed one of its close competitors up, the post you're looking at could have its reward decrease.

The other reason is that the exchange rate between STEEM and $ is constantly changing, and you might be seeing the value of STEEM dropping.

Don't worry! Upvoting a post can't decrease its reward!

That's a relief to know. I guess when I click the vote icon, the dollar amount is updated, same as if I had refreshed the page. Thanks for clearing that up for me.

I would like to know this as well, also fix your title your missing the v

I've never noticed but I upvote for people who have been downvote-bot'd so my votes seem to help (at times). I upvote much more than you thou...IDK if this helps you

Do you check to make sure they didn't deserve the downvote before you upvote? Some of the downvote bots are doing really good work in combating plagiarism.

I wasnt at first but i do now.

Well it happened again today when I upvoted a trending item and they lost money. I'm going take before and after screenshots when I vote tomorrow to see if get some proof. Has anyone else seen this?

@masterinvestor Its not just you, I noticed the same thing and it seemed very strange to me. Hopefully we get a solid answer to this, I even refreshed the page then upvoted and the reward went down. This made no sense to me.

@domavila it's good to know that I'm not just seeing things. Thanks for confirming my suspicion. Maybe the people looking at the newly released steemit.com source code can shed some light on this anomaly.

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 8.8 and reading ease of 61%. This puts the writing level on par with Leo Tolstoy and David Foster Wallace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62