What do you think this is?

in #question6 years ago

bcd70f2e-266b-4324-8c88-ceccf9d8c74d.jpeg


That metal rod was sticking out of the brick wall of a building nearly 100 years old. What do think it was put there for?


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

everyone seems to ask Ginabot everything these days. I have no idea as a bigger photograph maybe required. What kind of company was there in that time period. Is there any other clues?

The building wasn't in commercial use. Another clue is that there are many of those rods about five meters apart from one end to the building to the other.

I would have said to tie up your horse or something but that sounds odd. They look rather strong so is it anything structural. I thought maybe planking to form a walkway during severe snow falls. Otherwise put me out of my misery as I am sure you have some thoughts or know the answer.

My daughter thought they were for tying up your horse. They could be put there for some kind of scaffolding but I've rarely seen such rods sticking out of brick buildings even that old and that tall (four stories). Snowfalls are never that severe.

For a second there I thought it was one of the metal bits featured in the "Industrial Decadence In A Residential Area" post.

I'm tempted to say it's an ad-hock "hook" for something, wedged into the building's structure some time after it was already built? But that sounds like a pretty weak theory.

I think it's for tying up a horse.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you ask me, who will I ask 😂
Obviously don't have any idea

Posted using Partiko Android

If you ask me, who will I ask 😂
Obviously don't have any idea

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78