You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bounty 10 Steem: Who creates the fiat money

in #question6 years ago

Who is the actual entity that "creates" the currency?
I cannot imagine that the banks them-self have such power as this would give them the ability to create infinite amounts of money without any risk even with the reserve requirements:

I'm afraid you might be right . Check this out:

2018-04-05_1808.png
Click image to see source

Here's another mind blowing paragraph :

ddd.png
Click image to see source

Now I'm not a financial expert I only have a degree from Google University and as far as I can tell this information appears to be fairly accurate.

So to answer your question very simply I would say the BANKS.

Sort:  

Thank you. This has always been my impression. But then again i think, if it were this easy for a bank to create a loan, why cant I go there with 10k and ask for 100k loan. I could do this a few times and would then have billions. I'd buy all the bitcoins and leave the county.

Lol
You will be in debt i think for you to transfer to another country i think you need to show your scores or sokething like that

sure, but thats not the point. What I am trying to say is: if the bank could just create money out of thin air, there would be no risk to create a loan.

Why is lending for a bank risky?

I am no financial expert, but I would think at least part of the the reason banks would not give out loans solely based on being given 10% down would be because of the possible risk to their profit margin/ profitability as well as their reputation with investors if too many loans of that sort were defaulted on. They would need some level of proof of your ability to pay back the money in order to be worthwhile to the bank long-term.

I dont understand this reasoning. If the money is created out of thin air, the bank has no risk. And profit margin would be infinite even when the loan is defaulted on.

Only if they themselves have to borrow the money from the central bank do they carry a risk.

Congratulations! Your submission earned you 1.315 STEEM from this bounty. You have received 1.200 STEEM from the creator of the bounty and 0.115 STEEM from the community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41