How can i disconnect myself from social media addiction?

in #question6 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

Social media addiction is quite common nowadays. At the same time social media is also important to know about the current trends. If you think it is taking away all your time, then only you have to decide to quit from social media. When I say quit, it doesn't mean that you should deactivate your account and keep quiet. It is also no possible. As humans, we will need some kind of distraction to stay away from stressful moments of life. Social media can act as an entertainer for us in a way. My approach can look positive towards social media platforms but in short I would like to say that my life got better only after quitting social media platforms. I'm now able to focus on things that are really productive. 

Recently I decided that I will not be using any social media platform and I was able to even achieve that with ease. Before we look forward to disconnect from social media addiction we have to first understand why we went there in the first place. If we understand that clearly, we will be able to easily disconnect ourselves from social media addition. I have had lots of personal experience in this particular topic. I would like to share few things that worked for me. 

Why do we need social media?

On a positive note we will first try to understand the importance of social media. Human beings are social beings and they cannot live alone in this society. In that case we look forward to have fun with either friends and family. When we have such fun with friends and family, we are highly interested to share our beautiful moments in the social media platform. This is how it starts. We initially got this thought after we saw someone already doing it. When our friends are sharing their life events in Facebook or Instagram we will also be interested to share out life events in these social media platform. When people share something it becomes an addiction because it induces our interests to visit the profile of our friends and family to comment on their posts. 

Sometimes the conversation can really add value and sometimes the conversation can create unwanted cold wars. We react immediately if someone is sharing something as we are used to doing it. But not all the reactions we give end up right. Sometimes it becomes a mess and even ends up in quarrel. So from all these what we can understand is that, these social media platform has both positives as well as negatives. It becomes quite challenging to focus on the positives alone and take only the positives. That is where we end up with frustration and really want to quit but we still stick to the platform. 

Some practical steps to disconnect from social media addiction

To be honest I underwent all the above phase and ultimately ended up with frustration to get out of all the social networking platform. I would like to list out some practical steps that you can do to disconnect yourself from the platform. 


  • You will reach a social networking platform only when you have lots of time to spend. Always keep yourself occupied in any activity. 
  • You have to be someone focusing on doing things that are productive. If spending time in social media platform is not going to add any value to the productivity that you aim for, just keep saying that to yourselves repeatedly. 
  • Facebook and Instagram is something that never ends if you keep on scrolling. Even you will never get bored to stop scrolling. You can try uninstalling the application from your phone if at all you have one. Your frequency towards using social media platforms can reduce. 
  • Cultivate a strong hobby. For me, I always wanted to read something every day and write something every day. After joining steemit I have been able to do that regularly. This has helped me a lot in staying away from other social media platform. 
  • If you are someone who still want to stick with social media but reduce the frequency alone, then I think you have to allocate some particular time for social media surfing and stick to it. 

Of all the above tips, keeping yourself occupied on any productive task is the key. If someone says that they will give you 1 million dollar if you stay away from Facebook for one month, will you not accomplish that task. Consider it to be a challenge like that. 

Honestly from my personal experience I would say that my life has got a lot better after quitting from all the social media platforms. The only social platform that I'm still sticking to is the steem blockchain. I have quit myself from all other social media platform but when I say I quit, I would like to clarify a bit. I still visit my social profiles now and then to know what my friends are up to. But I have taken a oath that I will not comment or like on any posts unnecessarily. This will reduce my engagement towards the social media platform and at the same time I will also be able to keep myself up to date with what my friends are sharing and what the current trend is. 

Hope the above tips can help you get rid of your addiction from social media platforms. 

Image Source: Pixabay.com

Sort:  

Go sit silently in a forest, 20 min per day.

Ha ha ha. That was funny. 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

A strong will power and a good friend circle to avoid your addiction....there are things which you need to control by yourself. Belive i did not accessed Face book for last 4 years now...still i am happy...living a normal life

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes you are right. Even I stopped accessing Facebook and I'm happy now. Able to spend the time productively and effectively.

Posted using Partiko Android

Better to be social with real life then living in social platform

Posted using Partiko Android

Nicely written article! Social media addiction has become a menace for society. Addiction of everything is bad.

The bitter truth is that people don't even know and agree that they are addicted.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by rainbowbala from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97