Quebec City's MuralssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #quebec8 years ago

Today's murals are not painted on Montreal's walls. They are approximately 150 miles further in the northeast direction. You'll find them in the Old Quebec, an historic neighboorhood of Quebec City, the eleventh most populous ville in Canada. Pay close attention, because you could miss them if you were to travel into quick tour mode to the capital of the Quebec province.

That's right, be sure to keep an eye open in Saint-Roch, but most importantly keep your head up when walking under the Quebec Autoroute 440, because when moving your feet on the Boulevard Charest, you'll sure want to examine the tall pillars that countain the Fresques des Piliers from head to toe. These paintings, that as a whole could be considered as one multipiece mural, are part of the popular art work series known as the Fresques de Québec.

Using google street on your computer, and this time with your fingers, you'll end up near the murals in question by clicking on the following link: 829 Boulevard Charest E.


But before jumping to all of this magnificent aforementioned Fresco Wall Art, let's take a look at some nearby beauties, including some that have disappeared since I captured them with my camera back in 2014.

Photo 110.jpg

Photo 114.jpg

Photo 134.jpg

Photo 135.jpg

Photo 142.jpg

Photo 149.jpg

Photo 147.jpg


After some artistically pleasing warming up, now is the time to meet the art of Murale Création and the artists behind it.


Le Temple multiculturel (The multicultural Temple) made by Zone-Art in 2002

Photo 116.jpg

La Cathédrale (The Cathedral) made by Hélène Fleury in 2000

Photo 112.jpg

La Porte du paradis (Heaven's Gate) made by Hélène Fleury, Denis Jacques & Pierre Laforest in 2001

Photo 120.jpg

Le Conte (The Tale) made by Hélène Fleury, Denis Jacques & Pierre Laforest in 2001

Photo 117.jpg

L'Horloge (The Clock) by Zone-Art in 2001

Photo 126.jpg

La Galerie du Cirque (The Circus Gallery)

Photo 131.jpg

The last one is not listed on any website I have consulted, so I've decided to name it the same as goes the writing painted on it.

Others such as Le Fond marin (made by Hélène Fleury in 2000) and Le Paradis Terrestre have been destroyed in 2007.

So, I would guess that If you ever happen to visit Quebec City in the future, you may also find out that new ones will have been added or that maybe some of those posted here will have disappeared. These murals are no sufficient reason by themselves to visit this popular touristic city, but still, I think they are a small pretty addition to the overall charm this beautiful ''European style in America'' old town has to offer.

Sort:  

Cool street-art! Thanks for sharing :) I should visit Quebec one time at least, I love street-art and also write about it.

Your street-art posts are super cool! I'm already following you, but I'm following so much people that sometimes it is hard to keep track of all the nice posts coming out. I'll try to pay more attention to all of the amazing stuff you put out. Glad we share an interest in common! :-)

I'm following so much people that sometimes it is hard to keep track of all the nice posts coming out

I know what do you mean ;) same here but Im happy I could see your post :)

Glad we share an interest in common!

Yes we are :)

Cya around (Im already following you :) )

WOW some are just stunning! I love the old city and have had great times there!

Cheers et merci pour avoir partege

Me too, I had great times there! I much prefer visiting Quebec City or Ottawa than bigger cities such as Montreal or Toronto. Love your baby fist fight pic b.t.w., I'm a Habs fan!

Cheers! Ça me fait plaisir!

OMG! My cityyyyyy ! So beautiful! I miss quebec soo much! :) Nice post!

Went there like maybe 5 to 10 times in my life, and I always enjoyed the trip. Just talking about it makes went to go there! Thanks! :-)

It's cool to see people from Quebec on Steemit. I'm from Drummondville. @heroic15397 I left you a pm on the Steemit chat.

I thought you were from Ontario... going on the chat.

That multicultural temple graffitis are awesome! damn it, had i known it when i visited Quebec city, i'd have paid a visit!

Yes, I like The multicultural Temple graffitis too.

All of these are at the sea level in the lower part of the town (Basse-Ville de Québec), not on the promontory of Quebec where most of the touristic attractions are. Here are some others I took on the same day, and in the same area:

Photo 141.jpg

Photo 140.jpg

Photo 139.jpg

Photo 138.jpg

Photo 137.jpg

Photo 113.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63626.66
ETH 2640.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75