Blowing Sunshine or Smoke? Social Distancing Day Two

in #quarantine4 years ago (edited)

90045381_4039115189435507_6944534867170295808_n.jpg


Capture333.JPG


Here we are day two of the quarantine and I still have not learned to spell the word. Thank goodness for spell check. Today I feel a little better about the whole situation. I went to work like normal and we all talked about the rumors we've heard and what was going on around the world. There was no panic, just wondering how this is going to play out.

One thing that has set my mind at ease is reading the other Steemit posts from around the world under the quarantine tag. Somehow it makes me feel better that America is not in this alone. One of my co-workers pointed out that if this was a conspiracy then the whole world would have to be in on it. I allowed those words to calm me and tried my best not to mention the phrase, New World Order.

I work at a pharmacy and the phones were ringing off the hook. I wasn't in the best mood considering I was up late reading all the posts on Steemit and hanging in Discord listening to @r0nd0n's pirate radio on @msp-waves. But all things considered I only freaked out a few times from the overwhelming stress of the whole situation. I hate not being in control, or knowing what's happening.


Capture333.JPG


90262755_1472571659590665_8756406420586364928_o.jpg


Capture333.JPG


The streets were empty as I went to work. I didn't have to wait long at the stop sign by my house to cross considering there were no cars. And despite the 15 mph flashing light at the crosswalk, there were no children, school buses, or parents near the school that I pass each day. The place looked like a ghost town, reminding me that most everyone around here was staying home today.

I take orders and refill prescriptions for Hospice patients at my work. Every holiday the nurses go crazy sending in refill orders for their patients knowing we will be closed for the holiday. St. Patrick's day was no different, even though we aren't closing this week. Instead they are hoping to fill their prescriptions early since this is the end of the world.

This didn't seem to be a problem until they started to request a thirty day supply on their drugs. They used the term state of emergency and claimed their third parties were willing to pay for this exception. It sounded like a good idea to us until we realized we wouldn't have the medicine on-hand and would have to order more... guess what that's not going to happen.

The reality of the pandemic stopped that immediately. All I have to say is if you need an inhaler, you may want to make sure you have one now. Although I thought I was feeling better about the whole situation, the fact that our little pharmacy was having trouble finding supplies made "my feel better attitude" revert back to panic.

If we run out of drugs, we can't fill orders. If we can't fill orders, we can't work. If I can't work, I can't pay my rent. If I can't pay my rent... you see where this is going.


Capture333.JPG


90154980_2516966301857296_84868631078371328_o.jpg


Capture333.JPG


But then after lunch I hear my favorite president telling us he got our back. Thank God for Trump. He totally made my day. Even though I am working (for now) I totally felt better hearing that he was not only offering to help us, but insisting that the government send out checks asap.

I don't know how he will be handing out the money, but at this point every little bit will help us all and just knowing help is on the way makes me feel a whole lot better. I even entertained the thought of a vacation; or should I say a stay-cation since we can't travel at the moment. I haven't had a break in years... you have no idea.

Although I am still a little weary of looting and becoming a gang member of the mad max crew, all in all I feel much better about the course of the world. And despite the threat of a deadly virus, tonight I will rest easy knowing this world is not a complete shit show like I thought yesterday. It is amazing what a difference a day makes.

To demonstrate my faith in our country I did splurge a little bit on Amazon tonight. I bought a couple of things I have been putting off buying because I didn't feel as if I needed to save every penny today. But mostly it was because I really don't want to go back to Walmart any time soon...

image.png


Capture333.JPG


2FFvzA2zeqoVLrYE9s797ZjtvFQpjr1rFgojSjFXUf1MWRHcx4a5YZGQyaZxr1VJb6f8VSVoUo8ctjBbMcR9epU46Q58soPtDoviPo1D2PGXbcQit9BSboGZVEQ3o.gif

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

Imgur

Imgur

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20