Large Prey of a Python

in #python6 years ago

image002.jpg
A Southern African Rock Python ( Python natalensis) with it's prey.
This is probably as large as a prey could be for a Southern African Rock Python - a female Nyala Buck.
(photo was sent to me from an unknown source)
After eating a meal like this, the Python may fast for three months without eating again.
I personally have seen a large Female Southern African Rock Python after it had eaten a female Impala buck. It looked as though it could not move. I had been taken to see this Python which had been tracked over a period of 1 year by a Wits University student. To the best of his knowledge, this female Python had not eaten for three months and had just emerged from a hole where it had been with it's eggs for two months and previous to that it had not eaten whilst gravid with eggs.

Sort:  

you're making steemit a great community with your content ! keep it up!

Very interesting. How can pythons have the ability to capture fast-moving deer?

Ambush Hunter. They remain concealed and strike with speed. See my next post to see how big and sharp the python teeth are to grip the prey. They coil with lightning speed.

This is interesting and you seem to put lots of effort into this.
Nice post

That's a pretty good meal for a little guy. That python swallow that whole deer.

It's crazy to me how big a pythons prey can be! And that they just eat it all and then nothing for weeks or even months! I just love to watch videos of snakes eating these large animals - I'm so fascinated by it! :)

Wow, that's quite a catch. As soon as I saw the picture I wondered how long a pray like that would last a snake. I see you've already provided the answer. Impressive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61