Programming as a game, my thoughts on CheckIO

in #python8 years ago (edited)

talk_python57e56.md.png

So I am a python dev and I love podcasts, I listen to podcasts from different topics, from geo-politics to sexuality, to comedy. However one of the topics is development, and Programming is one of my favorites. *Talk Python to me* is a great podcast, and I have some comments about it.

To listen to the show please checkout their recording at talk python to me.

So Python is great for development of course, and now talking about game programming. Alex from CheckIO created a game development company that base it's development on python.

First thing that confused me is that Alex was coding in Perl, which is pretty odd in what I supposed is more than the 90s. Probably the early 2000's but coding for a bank in Perl seems odd. Most Banks use Java, or some corporate language, but mabye is just a legacy system from the 80s-90s.

Anyway I appreciate Alex enthusiasm on Python, and one of the first biggest testimonies, is to try to solve a problem for 5 hours, and then solve it and then comment it to other developer and seen other solutions. I have been there, but haven't seen it that way. Usually I become lazy and just post my question on SO and wait from a solution, bu this doesn't burn enough brain cells. I should do his method more.

Programming is basically problem solving, so having the patience, the research skills and the way to overcome the problems.

The biggest issue is how this game will teach you to code, and solve problems. They have a web editor but you can also have a web-plugin to sync to an editor. I think that's awesome. This episode made me just want to go to that game, the mission and island structure and other challenges about learning to code through gaming.

CheckIO Game CheckIO island

The game looks so cool, with great animations and graphics, so is great for presentation.

The other is the solutions, the type of solutions in python. And how users come with the different amount of solutions for solving issues. The way to reduce lines of codes and be able to be creative with code.

I like the type of the development, there are different ways to customize this for developers, like adding common modules into the standard library for this problem solving like scipy or numpy. Also the sharing of code and that's where the magic happens. And finally becomes a social network by following people for their updates.

Sort:  

I just checked it out... I think this will be fun. My oldest daughter is teaching me Python on the weekends. lol

She is a 2nd year college student in a computer science program. I have had two lessons and did six problems. It looks like after this weekend, I will be able to tackle the ELEMENTARY parts of the game. We will see how that goes... Thanks for sharing. :)

You have a new follower....

Thanks for the encouragement, I wasn't sure if writing about coding will make people drawn to the topic but I guess they also like to be talked python to them
Cheers!!

I would appreciate if you upvoted my thing. Game dev is cool!

I will check out your posts. Thanks for the vote.

Oh cool i have just start learning python as it came with the rasp pi software.
Followed = True
Upvote = True

Are you planning any py howtos. I hope to make a rougelike sometime.

Yes actually a month ago I wanted to create a steemit guild of pythonistas. I manage a large group on Facebook called LearnPython.org and encourage them to post here. So expect to have a few more writers here.
https://steemit.com/learnpython/@jza/learnpython-writing-guild

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67918.33
ETH 3740.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69