I went dark on you...

in #python6 years ago


An image of me destroying my life with fresh Espresso ; which has become a stimulant for me that rivals the ritalin I was prescribed

The way I do things is an odd and clumbersom beast. it is a bit awkward and I loathe my working process sometimes. But I am starting to come to terms with myself, and that is an interesting journey. Past the existential journey I am going through, there is something else that is brewing under the hood that some of you may just be interested in.

One early morning browsing session I came across the vein of videos on YouTube dealing with deep neural networks, and up until then I had a very meh response to software development, after that morning my interest was piqued. It was so silent that I was brought to have a discussion about it with @katrah , and she told me about her escapades with chatbots and how the one she was toying around with had just become boring.

After this I had no other interest in the matter, until I went dark this last few days. I bought into a course where they have taught me some patched up python programming skills, with a quick introduction to numpy and pandas onto of my very limited knowledge and skill in python. It goes to show that with focused learning you can skip about a year of theory and jump into application, and through that application learn the applicable theory on the fly.

Right now I am being funneled straight into a ML project that has to do with training a model to determine the listing price for properties in a investment case study. After which I will be lead through the whole process of Machine Learning and the data science that supports it. If you are going to get involved in data science like this remember that your utility lies in your capability of applying this to business problems, and thus driving business value.

I have never imagined a world where I would be consumed by Science and technology in this way. I am sure that this new branch will most likely augment my background in marketing management and business administration in general. For once in my life I am not scrambling for an advanced position to leverage for an exit. If you are constantly looking for the next best thing it is most likely because you are bored and uninterested in the difficulty of what you are doing, so if you are smart do smart shit.

I really hope that you find something like this as well, where you are completely consumed by it and you find yourself working on it until 2 or 3 am in the morning because it is really that interesting to you.

One thing that is certain, once you eatable your value to the environment you want to exist in, and develope the skills in order to deliver that value, while it is a highly creative process, you will achieve flow.

We live life looking for flow, because flow is where the clock is more like a stream of consciousness than a mechanical hand that continually goes around in a meaningless circle. Flow is where you can enjoy the company of the people around you, rather than melting under the weight of your anxieties and dread.

Anyway, I am not going to keep you any longer. I am starting to get into the habit of posting content here on steemit again, and this is the first post in my what will be a new streak. I find that posting from my mobile is a lot more personal, and it also gives me an idea of how long too long is.

I am not using any of the content formulas that will compell interaction yet, I really want to get into the habit of doing so. So expect some off the cuff noodling about a soft style of copywriting, and take the time to count the "I"s in this post.

Peace,
Damion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39