Potential lost in the Darkness

in #pyschology7 years ago

1498504575349.jpeg

I have a little nephew. When he was at the age of 2 years, a little before my sister decided to enroll him into daycare I remember seeing how very little he paid attention to a dark room.

He didn't have an ounce of worry.

UNTIL he got enrolled.

Which really makes me think "this isn't my nephew" 🤔

Of course, not literally. I take a look at him and, physically, he is my nephew.

But I know the idea of being scared is not him because this concept didn't grow from him.

His classmates, over time, made him believe that the darkness is something to be scared of.

He is now four years of age and TERRIFIED of walking inside a dark room.

I know that with time this ideology that he bought into will fade away largely by simply leading by example, and paying little to none attention to the pitch black territories, while with him.

Now, I am not trying to make my nephew look like the only victim. All these children are victims, which in turn, makes us all victims because we were all children once before (I include you if you remember being frightened of the dark once before.)

This is a SOCIAL CONSTRUCT, and this starts very early on in life.

This silly belief gets passed on generation after generation, it is a vicious cycle.

When we are in a very dark environment our brain immediately associates it with the unknown and quickly triggers anxiety because of our past references. Which most of the time are fictional, such as, scary movie scenes.

One's brain doesn't specifically remember movie scenes vividly, but unconsciously remembers what could happen while being in the dark.

Without a clear vision of what is around us, even if we are in the comfort of our own home, anxiety kicks in.

Yet, I want to make you AWARE that BY NATURE darkness doesn't phases us.

We are more COURAGEOUS than we think we are, this relates to darkness or life situations.

I want to EMPOWER you to think of what ideas there is, that you are buying into, that aren't yours to begin with.

What are those ideas that stop you from reaching your fullest potential?

These are referred to "limitations".

Are you creating your own beliefs or is someone else creating them for you?

Let that sink in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45