Sort:  

If asshole's goal is test of the spam attack with "nothing at stake", than negating his action means is doubling attack's effect

I'm not sure, if I understand this right.
If he 'abuses' 1k SP and we need 1k SP to counter him, then those 2 k SP have no relevance to the reward pool. In that sense the attack leaves 2 k SP useless.
I'm not sure what the effect of this attack is supposed to be, but other than rendering 2k SP useless, there are no effects. ( Slight bloat of the blockchain, but there have been worse attacks than this, before )

make them pay for flagging?

Flagging costs Voting Power.
If he spent the VP on upvoting instead, he could get a reward.

Compared to accounts that upvote, he is losing profit.

Seems this trick is not about profit, he'd already spent $100 for nothing. I mean just bloating the blockchain, I remember last October attacks in ETH.

There was an attack here where somebody posted long posts full of gibberish in rapid succession.
That was bloating the blockchain much more than vote operations.

But I don't know what happened there tbh.


He didn't spend the 100$, he can withdraw them later.

It's annoying, but I don't think there is more to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70