You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Pursuance Project Launched on Reddit - Is the Blockchain Next?

in #pursuance6 years ago

Barrett Brown was on the Intercepted podcast recently and had a lot of interesting things to say. I believe he talks about Pursuance towards the end of the interview.

He has denounced Wikileaks on Twitter after he very publicly fell out with Julian Assange because he believed that Assange became too close to the Trump Presidential campaign.

https://theintercept.com/2017/12/06/intercepted-podcast-whos-afraid-of-the-alt-deep-state/

Sort:  

Thanks for this link, and I do remember he has been quite vocal in his criticisms of Assange and Wikileaks and I think some of the criticism is warranted. I can't say with any certainty but perhaps Assange has been focused on securing his safe passage out of the Ecuadorian embassy.
It's hard to say what I would do in his position, but if I was under house arrest for over 5 years I think I would be trying to find ways to obtain my freedom.
It's strange that Wikileaks hasn't released any significant leaks regarding Trump and US ally Israel. It does make you stop and wonder if deals are being struck in the background.

Assange has problems now because he crosses back and forth between being a journalist and being an activist or political operator. You can not engage in all three pursuits without destroying yourself and/or your credibility as such. I am sympathetic to his attempts to secure his freedom. I am not sympathetic to him cozying up to Trumps people and not being upfront about what he was doing. He either needed to be totally upfront about his efforts to secure his freedom and drop the role of being "journalist" - or if he wants to maintain his journalist integrity, he needs to abandon realpolitick. It's that simple. And I speak from the experience of a journalist that destroyed my life/health in the process of trying to combine being an 'activist' with being a journalist... it just can't be done... something's gotta give when that starts happening.

That's even if that's not a body double. Embassy cat still hasn't tweeted since the embassy went dark 12.26.16

i hv bought nxt but it shut down i think it s time to re buy again in this down level

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57087.02
ETH 3064.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19