The Life of a new puppy

in #puppy6 years ago (edited)

Hi all – I want to share my story on Lexi and her integration into our family. It will be a weekly diary on Lexi´s Puppy Life. Her change in moods and behaviour and what experiences she has had.

Everyone – meet Lexi. The adorable Finnish Lappdog.

image-2.jpg
I know – she is cute as f right?
How did we find such a cute dog you might ask? Well – it was pure luck actually. My husband and I have discussed having a dog for a while now. We did lay the idea down to rest after looking out for a friend’s teenage mix for 3 months. 40 kg of running over my baby and toddler was not fun. Anyway – my husband has a friend with a Finnish lapdog and he loved it - so we got a puppy. On the 17th of February, my husband picked her up after driving 700 km to Sweden.

Here she is in her pen with her sisters.

image-3.jpg

Here she is between my husband’s legs on the way home. I know – I was anxiously waiting for him to come home with her.

image-4.jpg

My kids were excited too. We have three – one soon six-year-old, one three-and-a-half-year-old and a baby – 7 months.

WHYYYY? You might ask? well – I am home until 1th of august – and it is actually the perfect timing to take care of another baby. Because that is what she is, another baby piraya with teeth. My baby is biting me too – but harder.

The introduction was crucial – and we did it. The kids – bigger ones – they were able to ignore her! And did not scare her! So now she is confident and strong amongst them. She had to come to them, they did not burst to her. Even though they wanted too.

My baby is off limits, that she understands after some persuasion. Sometimes his diaper smells so sweet and jummy she just wants to grab that sweet mushy thing and chew on it! Luckily I removed it before that could happen.
![IMG_2366.JPG()

The first week with this sweet little thing and my baby boy was exhausting – I never ate lunch. But I will tell you one thing, it was exhilarating! I was on fire. Supermom – always on watch – I felt like a lion mother. Watching her baby, watching the pup pee inside, need a walk? let’s walk, mom out in freezing cold, baby in Ergobaby harness, warm and cozy – pup in pupcollar cus that damn harness can go f my husband. 5 minutes, baby cries, pup cries, mom freezes. Lets go inside and sleep in the bed for a couple of hours instead? Good plan.

I think that is the essential part here - we sleep together - in the same room - all of us. The pup is not overly excited, she is calm, and I get to sleep. It is my husband who takes the nights with the pup, but a 7 month old hardly sleeps at night, mine certainly never does.

IMG_2370.JPG

Only thing that upsets the zen is the cat – the cat is another story.

The calm settles. Life is good.

Next week – week 9 – EVERYBODY IS HOME!IMG_2360-2.JPG

Sort:  

There is a dog-shaped building in New Zealand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65236.24
ETH 3401.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19