Training Guide Dogs For The Blind (Part 2) How to train your Puppy

in #puppy8 years ago (edited)

Beanz & Flo

Follow Flo on her journey to graduating to become an

Irish Guide Dog For The Blind

You can use my videos to learn how to train your own dog!

In this video I show you how I gave Flo her very first training.


It might sound simple, but getting Flo to sleep in her crate for the first few nights wasn't easy!

I made the mistake of letting her on the sofa (couch) once and for a few weeks she kept trying to get back up there. I needed to train her to be comfortable sleeping in her crate quickly because it was not long before she was big enough to jump on the sofa!

Look what a difference 2 months made!

This is the first of a weekly series I will be posting about puppy training!

Check my page or follow me for more

Sort:  

We have 10month old Harold. I have to admit training is not my strong suit. That little guy has me wraped around his little finger! Looking forward to watching your videos.

Great! I've been training my own pets all my life, but not to the standard expected of Guide dogs so I'm learning a lot from this experience. I hope to share what I'm learning so that it could help others too :)

Great post, love dogs I bred German Shepherds for 10 years in Australia, but only for fun, the problem I had is every litter I wanted to keep all of them so it was too hard for me in the end,lol..ended up with 4 you can see them here . Training is something I enjoyed and there are general things that work for every dog, but some dogs have personalities that require a bit more work,lol......anyway great post and love Labs and retrievers:)

Oh wow! Those are a high energy breed and you have 4 of them!! Lol. They are stunners though.

She's lovely, I'm not sure how I'll give her up lol.

ah I did wonder if you had her just for 'training' - thats rewarding in someways, but hard when you have to let her go to do her job. Do you train many?

This is the first of hopefully many. I have her for about 12 to 14 months then she finishes her training in a facility where she eventually gets matched with her new owner.

Nice shirt! Where did you get that ;-)

puppy pics have a distinct Abu Graib feel to them

nice work - upvoted!

Abu Graib...?

Hope used to be such a PITA in the initial days. But after a few days of trying to crate-train her she was okay. But she wasn't the happiest in her crate though. She liked being able to roam all over the place all the time. By the time she moved into her permanent home she was a well behaved dog. Was a bit temperamental but settled down eventually in her new home! This was a nice video and such a lovely lil' pup youv'e got there! Thanks for sharing this with the community!

Thank you! Hope is so beautiful!! That's so sad what happened to her. She's lucky to have found you :)

Now she's all grown up and has turned into a strong, healthy beautiful dog! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65744.86
ETH 3466.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62