Simba - The Wheaten Border Collie

in #puppy7 years ago (edited)

So if you've read my "introduceyourself " post you would know that I have a wheaten Border Collie puppy named Simba. We got him when he was 14 weeks old and man he was a handful! If you have a dog you would know that they chew, whine, bark, poo and pee everywhere! Despite all of that you still love them to bits and it is all totally worth it! We absolutely love Simba! He is incredibly smart (as all dogs are) he absolute loves jumping on people and playing with other dogs. I'll slowly add bits and pieces about him so I don't take too much of your time reading.

This is when we took him home.
simba 2_12.jpg

I hope you enjoy the photo as much as I enjoy shooting him! This was before we picked him up at 7 weeks old
Simba (42 of 53).jpg
If you want to know more about Simba drop me message below :)

Have a fabulous day!

Sort:  

aw......so cute.....border collies are highly intelligent and have a lot of energy.....they need a lot of mental stimulation to tire them out.....ask me how I know :)

He's too cute it's impossible to stay mad at him when he's done something he shouldn't have. Yes indeed border collies are very highly intelligent and far too much energy. We have a massive section outside where he can run around, but we usually take him for a run around the fields and he goes nuts.

Mental stimulation is great for them and they really need it or else they get bored and start to chew walls and floor vinyl (yes that has happened before).

..... you had or have a border collie? I'll bite, how do you know lol....

I missed this reply for some reason. hmmm.... Anyhoo....Yes I had a border collie cross - other part was black lab. Sheba was her name and she had mostly a border collie look and personality. Smartest dog ever. I could line up her toys - they all had names - and she would sit while I put them in a line. Razor focused. I'd tell her to get Turtle. She go right to it and bring it to me. I'd tell her to get something that wasn't there. She'd walk up the line and look at me as if I did something wrong!! lol. She's been gone a while. She was a really good dog, but STUBBORN!! So re the mental stimulation. After not tiring her out playing hockey or catch, the never ending game, she would want to be taught something or be challenged.

Haha its all good! There is just so many comments everywhere its hard to keep up especially if you have a busy lifestyle. Wow that sounds amazing, I tried teaching Simba the name of his toys awhile ago but I think it was too early for him. Will try again though.

There is a dog somewhere on youtube and that border collie knows all 100 or something of his toys, insane! Sheba sounds incredibly smart!

She was....very smart. I love training dogs and have learned over the years that a softer touch works way better, especially for Abbey - the poodle in her is ultra sensitive.

Oh!!! I know who to ask for tips then :D how did you get Sheba to know the names of toys?

Poodles are also very smart dogs!

Oh that was just sheer repetition. I noticed you feed Simba treats for obedience training. Put all the toys out of reach except his favorite one. Give it a name. Each time you hand it to him say the name. Also teach him take it. Then once he understands that toy and bringing it to you, do it with another, but keep the one he knows in sight, don't hide it. Then he'll know two. And so on. It's not a one time trick but they do pick it up quickly.

My Australian Shepherd didn't like that game, altho he knew what was what. He would paw it and get what he wanted.

Abbey knows her toys too, but doesn't like the game either. Sheba was all into it. One of her favorite games. She would go searching all over the house for the one that I asked her to get.

Try to keep the names of the toys simple to one or two syllables too. Like Baby, Bone, Teddy, Ball, etc. We got crazy with Sheba though, one of her favorite toys was Subajuba....a made up name for a marbled rubber bone. Go figure.

Oh wicked! I'll definitely try that :) I think Simba will love that game once he gets to know all the names. He's a quick learner!

Its great that each and every dog have their own personality. Love it! Simba drop any of his toys in front of me while I'm watching tv or something and he'll just paw my lap basically asking me to throw it.

My favorite game with him is hide and seek. He was incredibly stupid when he first and ran around headless for ages but now he just sniffs for us and finds us very quickly.

Hahaha! great on the syllables with Sheba!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84