I know not who I am

in #punjab7 years ago (edited)

Abdullah Shah (bullah)was born into a very religious family, his father being a preacher in a mosque. His family had a long association with Sufi’s.

Bulle Shah spent most of his life in Kasur, Pakistan right from his education until his death.

After receiving his traditional education in Kasur, Bulleh Shah became a murshid (disciple) of a famous spiritual teacher Qadiri Sufi Shah Inayat Qadiri, who guided him towards spiritual awakening.
From these teachings, Bulleh Shah spent his whole life in search of true self-realisation and spiritual awakening.
image
Bulleh Shah followed the Sufi patron of Punjabi poetry founded by eminent poets like Shah Hussain, Shah Sharaf and Sultan Bahu. He wrote various forms of Punjabi poetry but the majority of his verses were Kafi’s, a style of Punjabi, Sindhi and Saraiki poetry.
image
One of His most famous and very spiritual poem which beyond this materialistic world

Here it is with English translation

Bulla! I know not who I am
Bulla! I know not who I am

Nor am I the believer in mosque
Nor am I in the rituals of the infidel
Nor am I the pure in the impure
Nor am I inherent in the Vedas
Nor am I present in intoxicants
Nor am I lost nor the corrupt
Nor am I union nor grief
Nor am I intrinsic in the pure/impure
Nor am I of the water nor of the land
Nor am I fire nor air

Bulla! I know not what I am

Nor am I Arabic nor from Lahore
Nor am I the Indian City of Nagaur
Nor a Hindu nor a Peshawri turk
Nor did I create the difference of faith
Nor did I create adam-eve
Nor did I name myself
Beginning or end I know just the self
Do not acknowledge duality
There’s none wiser than I
Who is this Bulla Shah
Bulla! I know not who I am

Bulla! I know not who I am
[Nor am I Moses nor Pharoah
Nor am I fire nor wind
I do not stay in Nadaun (city of innocents
[Bullashah, who is this man standing?
Bulla! I know not who I am
Bulla! I know not who I am

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67043.72
ETH 3510.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20