Isn't There An Easy Button?

in #punchline6 years ago (edited)

Me after getting through a third of my cryptocurrency transactions for my taxes due tomorrow:

Tears will flow when I get through my dreaded ETH panic sell/buy week last June to see how much Ramen I'm going to have to eat over the next month.

Source

@steemmatt

Sort:  

The crypto volatility can sure make one go mad! :-)

I'll admit that I got unnerved, last spring but in hindsight, I'm glad I went through that then since it taught me vital lessons early on so I've been rock solid ever since.

Stay strong. Also we all need a lot of good luck.
Old saying: Better to be lucky than smart.

Screw panic sells. HODL.

I know I know. I had to relive it when going through the transaction spreadsheet. It was a 1 time fluke after experiencing a crazy bull run and the first sign of ETH collapsing because of ICO dumps/congestion.

Yeah now a days taxes are increasing for crypto. It's not a good news.

Great comedy.i appreciate punchline..

After seeing what the returns in 2017 were with someone picking $200 in the top 30 crypto on Jan 1 to dec 31 if you held you'd have 770k!? I basically did it with select top 25 coins on coin marketcap with $750 total.

I guess I've chosen to add a 16th crypto with steem.

How do we track steem rewards for tax purposes?

It's a really tiny part of my stock portfolio, which is mostly dated index funds at my work.

I'm not sure how to handle Steem rewards unless you transfer them out to an exchange for USD. I treated mine as a gift with no cost basis, so I paid the full short-term tax on it to be safe. Please don't follow this advice, I really am learning myself.

I didn't know if it was us like us buying property every time we took the sbd, steempower or whatever. Someone has a script to pull from @furions steem data, seems complex for non-it people. (nerd alert-furion was a DotA character that teleports to push waves) Time to make a web based script and sell it.(or get jerrybanfield or some whale to upvote me for like $50)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62964.22
ETH 2595.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74