You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Push vs Pull: The power of the Pull Model

in #pull8 years ago

Another good post @alexgr. But I bet you'd agree one important disadvantage of the "pull" model is that it can serve to reinforce our biases. Fox News and MSNBC both serve as obvious examples in the US. Sadly, when we choose our content, we humans tend to choose only content that reinforces what we already believe - which puts critical thinking in ever more danger.

In general I'm also a fan of pulling content, though, and I'm not sure how to mitigate this kind of trouble.

Sort:  

Indeed... I actually noticed exactly what you describe due to the way steemit was structured early on - where I was browsing through a lot of unrelated-to-my-interests content and I actually liked some of it, which obviously triggered an "aha" moment that I'm missing stuff due to my own bias: https://steemit.com/steemit/@alexgr/steemit-remind-us-that-there-is-more-content-out-there-

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67