One month after Hurricane Maria hit Puerto Rico, this has happened so far... please upvote

in #puerto7 years ago

hurricane-maria-puerto-rico-2-jt-170921_4x3_992.jpg

Hello fellow Steemians! I hope you are all doing good where ever you might be this beautiful day.
If you are feeling down, remember that everything can get better as sure as day comes after the night.

I am from Puerto Rico and our island was hit a category 4 to 5 hurricane Maria on September 20th of this year 2017. Thankfully yours truly was not affected much by the hurricane other than a little water that I had to mop up throughout a period of about 24 hours or so.

But, hundreds of thousands of families in Puerto Rico lost their homes, businesses, cars, jobs, etc...
Keep in mind that in this tiny island there are more than 3 million humans from all over the world living in all types of communities. Although the hurricane affected everyone here, the poorer communities suffer the most.

I know many that lost everything in their homes and since the economy came to a pause there are many without jobs and without opportunities of getting the so much needed cash that we use to buy gasoline, food and anything else we need throughout this time.

We are almost all without electricity and water due to the damage that the hurricane caused and the poor management of the past which hasn't moved towards renewable energy and self sustaining agriculture.

There is another massive exodus underway because everyone wants to live the life we are supposed to live in this time in age and since we are US citizens there are lots of us going to the States. I'm not though, unless I get an awesome job which I've been looking for since before the hurricane.

There are still communities that are isolated from the rest of the island and we have to go offroad to get supplies to them, which the military doesn't always do unfortunately.

There is a lot of support and fundraising going on, but that usually ends up lining pockets of a few. I help my family and friends every time that I can and will continue to do so even if I go broke.

Good thing is that the people are looking for renewable energy options and I am part of that movement. I am helping to design some DIY power walls to power the homes of Puerto Rico families all over.

If you have questions, comments or just want an upvote, reply to this post and I will reply back.

Keep yourselves awesome and remember to upvote, resteem, reply and follow @victorvazco . Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87