Sleepy Dog Pub in Da Nang: Small, fun, cheap!

in #pubs3 years ago

Recently I met a random dude somewhere and it turns out that he is the owner of a small pub. I had never noticed this place before and it is a pretty wonderful spot for some cheap lagers, free pool and shuffleboard, and he also has a Playstation that people can play football - of the soccer variety - also for free.


image.png

The place isn't special in a decoration or attraction type way. To be fair, it is a lot like the rest of the pubs in this part of the city but the thing that makes it a bit better is that the owner in a native-English speaker and therefore your orders don't involve any sort of confusion.

I also appreciated the artwork that is in this place and according to the owner, Hugh, the place is named "Sleepy Dog" because of his dog who is named.... you guessed it! Sleepy!


image.png

One thing that gets me about this artwork and if you follow my stuff you might be able to relate is this: It all kind of looks like these were all made by the same individual or group of individuals. I am not suggesting they are not talented but basically every painting that I see on a wall anywhere in this part of town has a similar look to it.


image.png

The dog, Sleepy, is a lot of fun but I would go ahead and recommend that you do not throw one of her toys because then he is going to be bothering you to continue to do so for the next hour or so. She is really cute as well so it is tough to say no when she looks up at you with her puppy dog eyes begging you to please please please throw the rope one more time!!! This is the last time I promise!


image.png

With beers as low as 80 cents a bottle, and cocktails that I didn't try that were around $2, you aren't going to break the bank by going here either. For me, even though it is essentially the same as every other pub in town, the friendly vibe and 90's tunes that were playing was all the reason that I need to return. It is really easy to find in the An Thuong area, which if you are visiting is probably where you are going to be ending up near anyway but if you need some help there is a map here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75