Last day to grab my “fake” best-seller for only 99 cents

in #publishing6 years ago

I’ve been running a promotion on my book, The Heart to Start, this week.

Lots of people are buying it, so it’s a best-seller. See?

Folks in the publishing industry will try to tell you it’s not a “real” best-seller. That only an authority like The New York Times or The Wall Street Journal can decide what a best-seller is.

Amazon owns 82% of the English-language book market. Tell me again how they aren’t an authority on what’s a best-seller?


What they mean is that having a best-seller isn’t that hard now. With all of the different categories there are on Amazon, you don’t have to sell that many books to be #1 in a category.

So the inconvenient truth for the publishing industry is that becoming a best-seller is easy. You just have to be the best book for a much smaller group of people. People who are interested in an obscure subject like Space Opera
science fiction.

Just because having a best-seller is easy now doesn’t mean best-sellers are any less real. It’s just that it never really mattered in the first place. People like what they like, and they don’t need an authority to tell them.


The most fun part of this promotion has been watching my ranking on Amazon’s author rankings. For awhile, I was ranked next to a couple of my favorite authors: Tim Ferriss and Malcolm Gladwell.

Now I’m ranked a little higher. Now I’m next to Ryan Holiday and Simon Sinek.

If you want to join in the fun, please do buy my book. It may be a “fake” best-seller, but I really did put my heart and soul into it. It’s fun to see my self-published book ranking along with the giants of the traditional publishing industry.


David Kadavy Steemit

Do you ever procrastinate on something you want to do? Something you feel compelled to do? The Heart to Start will help you break through the mental barriers and make your dream a reality. Buy it today for only 99 cents »

Sort:  

I'm here because of you. I've first purchased your "fake" bestseller, it is a great book. And then I started to pay more attention to what you publish and downloaded your book about Steem. Know, I'm ready to give a try, I'm by any means a writer, but I want to contribute to the human culture. Thanks for your books.

Thank you so much for buying my book and following along, Hector! Yes, get to writing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45