Steemit Publishers: Let’s publish our Steemit content also as books!

in #publisher8 years ago (edited)

 Wouldn’t it be great if we could add a Steemit Publisher module to the Steemit ecosystem? Wouldn’t it be great to have the Steemit logo on your published books?   

If you have ever faced the daunting task of finding a publisher for a book you wrote and finally decided to self-publish it online, you know what I am talking about. Self-publishing is worthless, because like a starting minnow posting on Steemit, nobody will even notice that you published a book. You can advertise it on many sites, but it will never have the marketing boost of a recognised publisher. Plus that your books can only be ordered online and will not be distributed to bookstores.   

But now that we have Steemit we can change that. We could add a Steemit publisher module to our Steemit ecosystem.    

I have seen so many great series of consecutive posts devoted to a single theme on this forum. If you put all those posts of a series together, do some referencing and cross-referencing, you end up with a great book.   

This is how I see it:   Anyone on Steemit who wishes to publish as book a series of related posts that he/she published on Steemit before can submit a request to an editorial board.    

The editorial board will help you make the document fit for publication. You may have to write a preface.   

The book will be published with the Steemit logo by Steemit publishers. It will be made available for print-on-demand via Steemit publishers.   An e-book version will also be made available systematically.   

Should the online sales reach a certain threshold, showing the book has potential to be sold in bookstores, then Steemit publishers will contact the bookstores and do the accompanying marketing.   

Steemit books when bought by Steemit members can be paid in Steem.   

Personally, I would be proud to see the Steemit logo on my books (as I did in the picture by means of exemplification).   

I would also like to volunteer to be part of the team that organises this initiative, if there is enough support to make this a reality. Plus that I’d like to be part of an editorial team.   

I hope you’re as enthusiastic as I am about this idea. Please let me know if you want to join in.   

The image on top is photoshopped, in reality my (self-published) books do not have the Steemit logo yet.   

If you liked this post, please upvote -and even better- resteem.   

Steem on!   

Sort:  

Good idea for some of our postings, but what about giving the option of turning what we post into books via a Steemit own business, if anyone is interested in taking care of it? I surely would by the book versions of many of the posts in my blog while using steemit economic platform! Namaste :)

Nice idea. When you get a chance, check Steemit.chat.

This is not so difficult. We'll do it in the same way the self-publishing sites like Lulu do it. You can simply click a button, pay and download.

This is a very interesting idea, and it would be amazing it this becomes a reality in the future! Good luck with the project, I am for sure going to pay close attention if you manage to get it going :)

Thanks, will keep you posted.

I bet I could make a whole quarter!

I understand your cynicism. But the idea is that this is better than self-publishing. Perhaps not so good as a real publisher, but at least your book might make it to the bookstore and if so, you'll probably make more than just a quarter.

It was tongue in cheek...I'm not going to live long enough to make any money...it's about getting info out there.

Great idea @technovedanta let's put it into action

Thanks. Join me in this enterprise if you wish.

I sincerely love this idea. I've also gone the self-publishing route. I've got about 3 books in various levels of done but I've been kind of hording them to see what my options are.
I've tried to convince many of my writing friends to come to Steemit. Compilation books by a series of authors would be fun too. I would definitely support such a project. :D

Every help is welcome. In a next post I will present how I think we can reduce this to practice.

Well I put up one already and am partially through another book chapter, by chapter... I would go with this and why not, exposure is great.

Did you put up a Steemit publishing site or your own publishing site?

Just my own site... but I have books in print as well as Kindle too. I am way un-savy with tech so I can not integrate into steemit on my own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49