PTSD and ME By Hurt Porter III

in #ptsd7 years ago (edited)

PTSD and ME
PTSD is not something that only effects military personnel in combat. PTSD can affect anyone who has been through a traumatic event.
Hello Steemit
My Name is Hurt Porter III
I am a Veteran who served in the Navy/Marine Corps as an 8404 Corpsman or in civilian terms combat medic.
When I came Home back in 2009 my life was never going to be the same again. 6 months after coming home I realized that something was off balance with me. I could not sleep, I could not eat and I was always angry and upset with everything and everyone. My life spiraled out of control and I lost everything. I was suicidal, I suffered from depression and anxiety. The anxiety was so out of control I could not leave my house in fear I would have an attack in public and many times I did. I was afraid for everyone’s life around me. I finally decided to go to the VA for help and I was Diagnosed with PTSD. I was shocked, me with PTSD? I thought to myself “I am a bad ass and only weak people get PTSD” I could not have been further from the truth. I started as an inpatient at first and in time went to group therapy and started seeing a therapist at least 2 times a month religiously. It took me 9 years to get my life back in order. 2 years ago, I started creating short YouTube videos to help me and anyone else experiencing the same struggle through PTSD. I wanted people to understand what they were going through by sharing my own story. I am excited that I get to share these videos with you. If you are suffering from PTSD or have a Loved one who is struggling with PTSD these videos may help. These videos are not motivational videos or training videos. These videos are of me figuring out my life and sharing what I have learned on my journey to recovery there are over 100 you tube videos that I created. I hope that by watching my videos you will benefit from them as much as I have benefited from creating them. The year is 2017 and I am now on a new Journey through PTSD that some people Call POST TRAUMATIC GROWTH. I am glad I did not put a bullet through my head like I really wanted to. I want to assure you that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Although everything may be dark, cold and lonely for you right now. I can assure you that it will not always stay that way. You will get better and the person you will become on the other side will be phenomenal. I want to encourage you to stay alive. I know how much it hurts and I understand your pain. I also know that the world needs you and people like you. I am not completely sure how this project on Steemit will evolve and I am excited to see how many lives I will be able to touch through this new social media opportunity.
Be safe
It Only Gets Better From Here
Peace
Hurt Porter III

Sort:  

I am excited to read your future posts. Good luck and welcome! Please consider checking out minnowsupportproject.com and @minnowsupport. It is a great community of individuals that will help you get started and can answer all of your questions.

Oh wow thank you for the contact sepracore. I appreciate that. You got it I will post a minimum of 1 video a day
Thank you for your feed back. Be safe

Congratulations @hurtporteriii! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome Hurtporteriii to Steemit!! Glad to see you. I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

thank you Mekong It is good to be here. I am new to all of this and excited to see how this adventure unfolds. Mekong

Welcome to steemit Hurt. First may I say, Thank you for your service. I am sorry to hear of your struggle with PTSD, I hope by any measure your youtube videos are helping you and those who watch them. What is your youtube channel link?

thank you sandya. It is good to be here. I hope my videos are helping as well. I only need to make a diffrrence in one person and I will feel accomplished.
Here is my YouTube Channel enjoy.
Be safe
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCyWkj26Jn75U3sj2HO-LGOQ

Congratulations @hurtporteriii! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 62427.05
ETH 2721.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56