Clove and Other Essential Oils

in #ptsd6 years ago

So, I have been trying to alleviate symptoms of PTSD and other aches and pains that seem to be a consequence of the experience of abuse for years.  In addition to this, I am continually trying to change the way I feel, which has resulted in several addictions throughout my life.  For me, essential oils were never "strong" enough to alleviate the pain.

I tried a couple in the past.  My friend was selling them, and I got a starter kit and a diffuser with lavender, lemon, and a couple blends that were supposed to be helpful in losing weight or purifying the air.

They were nice.  It was nice to have them, but they did not seem like something that would be useful towards my recovery, so they have been sitting on my shelf collecting dust for a while now.

For one reason or another, I decided to try essential oils again, but this time I wanted something that would be useful in treating PTSD.  Over the weekend, I have running my diffuser with a cardamom and clove blend.  They are both helpful in alleviating symptoms of PTSD.

This is what Organic Facts has to say about clove.

It is also useful for treating neural disorders such as memory lossdepression, and anxiety.

Cardomon is useful in treating symptoms of PTSD.  There is even peer-reviewed research on the connection.

Together, I do experience a noticeable effect.  I feel calm, more able to be productive, and stress is somewhat alleviated.  I don't know if the difference between my first experience with essential oils and this one is that I was looking for oils that would address PTSD.

I also don't know if the difference is that I am much farther in my recovery and able to enjoy something like this now.  It makes me feel good to use my diffuser and breathe in the smell of cloves and cardamom.

A few years ago, this feeling might have triggered self-harm and some panicked attempt to remove the good feeling.  Honestly, I think that if I sit here thinking I can just feel good for too long, I will still start to panic.  Although, I have apparently made some progress to be grateful for.

Finally, the crown jewel of my new experience with essential oils this weekend is something called Copaiba.  I had never heard of it before a couple weeks ago.  I guess it is some kind of awesome tree resin, but it works!  Here is some more information on it.

I have truly had few experiences with real pain relief over the years.  This oil reduces inflammation and provides real relief.  I absolutely love it, and I would recommend to anyone who is looking to expand their toolkit at some point in their recovery.

Sort:  

I bought Argan oil and it came with these two scents. I've just been opening them for the smell once in a while.

I think I'll get a diffuser that sounds nice.

MVIMG_20180306_192222.jpg

Diffusers are great, and they help clean the air of bacteria better than Febreeze. I would definitely recommend one. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42