[PT | ENG] My Own Thoughts! Charity for São Tomé!

in #pt6 years ago

I thought about writing a post (or more!) so I can raise some SB to @zpedro and the account he created for charity, @sisou.

Check his last post, vote and resteem!!

Pensei em fazer uma publicação (talvez mais até!) para que pudesse juntar algum SB para o @zpedro e para a conta solidária que ele criou, @sisou.

Vejam o último post que ele fez, votem e partilhem!!


fotos_24016_guadalupe_praia_das_conchas.jpg
shell beach
praia das conchas source


At this present moment he's raising money to help locals while he's visiting São Tomé in his volunteer tryp (please feel free to correct me @zpedro!). I thought about writing my memories and feelings on this country as I'm part Saotomense (my dad was born there!)

The photos I present here unfortunately aren't mine. It's funny, because as we were living there, we didn't have the need to take photos of all the beauty São Tomé has! Now I kind of regret that... I have to resort to the Internet to try to find photos that suit my memories of those beautiful places...

Neste momento, o @zpedro está a angariar dinheiro para apoiar os habitantes locais enquanto for visitar São Tomé na sua viagem solidária (por favor @zpedro, corrige-me se estiver a dizer disparates!). Pensei então em escrever as minhas memórias e emoções que tenho sobre este lindo país, simplesmente por ser metade Saotomense (o meu pai nasceu lá!)

As fotos que aqui coloco infelizmente não são minhas. É engraçado porque o facto de nós na altura estarmos lá a viver, fez com que não nos preocupássemos em fotografar toda a beleza desta terra! Agora quase que resta um arrependimento... Tenho que recorrer à Internet para encontrar fotos que se assemelhem às minhas memórias...


praia da marginal.jpg
the welcoming picture as we arrive to the capital
cartão de visita para quem chega à cidade de São Tomé source


I lived in São Tomé Island for 4 years, from 1994 to 1998. I left with 11 years old, so always remember this: I'm sharing my infant memories here with you.

I've never been to Principe Island, which was a shame, but I've been to Ilhéu das Rolas, where Pestana Hotels Group has a beautiful resort. I will talk about that on a different post, probably.

Vivi em São Tomé durante 4 anos, de 1994 a 1998. Vim para Portugal aos 11 anos, por isso lembrem-se sempre: estou a partilhar memórias da minha infância.

Nunca estive na Ilha do Príncipe, mas estive no Ilhéu das Rolas onde o Grupo Pestana tem um belo resort, Pestana Equador. Talvez mais tarde falarei sobre esta viagem.


This photo is probably the first glimpse we have as arriving at the capital. It sums up what we can expect of the city: the smell of the fresh sea mixed with the funny smells of the city, the dampness on the air and on your body, your clothes glued to you, and the hotels by the sea (Miramar Hotel, Marlin Hotel, I think it's Omali Lodge now...).

Esta foto é provavelmente a primeira imagem que temos ao chegar à capital. Resume o que podemos esperar da cidade: o cheiro fresco a mar misturado com os estranhos cheiros da cidade, a humidade no ar e no nosso corpo, com a roupa já colada a nós, e os hotéis à beira-mar (o Hotel Miramar, mais um agora dos Pestana, o Hotel Marlin que tinha mesmo um peixe marlin à entrada, agora creio ser o Omali Lodge)

I remember taking baths at this beach, a really warm and calm water, but as it is right at the city it has its cons: it gets smelly and dirty because of everything that happens there!

  • Fishermen arriving with their fish, most of times they sell right there, so if the customer asks for a clean fish, that's where he cleans it, by the beach...

  • Children taking baths after school and sometimes they make the beach their bathroom!

  • Families having their great time on weekends, but then they don't clean after...

Well, the real and cruel side of the Paradise!

Lembro-me de tomar banhos nesta praia, água agradavelmente quente e calma, mas como estava mesmo à beira da cidade tinha os seus contras: torna-se suja e mal-cheirosa por toda a atividade que lá se dá!

- Pescadores que chegam com o pescado, muitas vezes vendem logo no momento, então se o cliente pede o peixe limpo, é na praia que ele o vai limpar...

- Crianças a dar os seus mergulhos depois das aulas e muitas vezes fazem da praia a sua casa de banho!

- Famílias a passar um bom bocado aos fins-de-semana, mas que depois não levam o lixo que fazem...

Bom... A parte real e cruel de um Paraíso!


If you don't want to keep this bad taste in your mouth, just stay tunned for more posts!
Para não ficarem com um gostinho amargo na boca, fiquem atentos às próximas publicações!


boca do inferno.JPG
the hell's mouth!
boca do inferno source


So remember: all the payouts I get from this post I will transfer to @sisou, the charity account managed by @zpedro. | Lembrem-se: todo o pagamento deste post será transferido para a conta solidária @sisou, gerida pelo @zpedro!

Feel free to upvote and resteem! You will be helping a charity program that is really dear to me! Thank you in advance! | Estejam à vontade para votar e partilhar! Estarão a apoiar uma causa que me é muito querida! Obrigada desde já!

Sort:  

Very good idea and I'm glad that you're helping out @zpedro with his project. I found you through the #payitforward contest. You were featured by @cicisaja. Congratulations and best wishes.

Thanks for stopping by and for your support!

My pleasure. Keep up the good work. :)

Dear @helgapn, Greetings from Indonesia
I have featured your post on the Pay It Forward contest, because I like the way you support other through this post. if you have time just take a look at this post My entry to PIF contest week 11.

Thank you

Thanks!

Thank you! I'll check for sure!

thanks for this post.great.

Thank you for your memories, for your post and for your help!

You know you're more than welcome!

I came to this page because of @cicisaja has nominated you in PIF curation contest. And the selection is not wrong that I would like to say.

Any such work is deserves a pat on the shoulder and the way you described is very good...Stay blessed

Thanks for your support!

Supporting with my best upvote ^_^
Helga, you've got a msg on Steemchat you will enjoy : your coloring page is ready for you to be downloaded ;-)
cheerful day.png

Thank you! Thank you @barbara-orenya! :)

With much pleasure Helga ! Thank you for associating my art to your students project ;-) And thanks also for the transfer ^_^

Found your post through @cicisaja on the Pay It Forward Curation Contest week 11, hope that you will continue to write about the Project and let us now more about how is Sao Tome in your personal perspectives too.

Thanks for stopping by! The project for São Tomé goes until 30th of June. But maybe I'll keep writing to help the @dailycharity account!

As you know @cicsaja featured in Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

They may be childhood memories but they seem to have made an impact on you. It's great that you're helping out @zpedro with his charity. A really good write up and pictures.

Yes, I have few memories but the ones I share really had an impact on me! Glad you liked them! Sometimes we have an idyllic image of these islands but I wanted to share the real life...

@helgapn It's amazing how things are represented but in reality it's different. I think it's an ideal we all want to believe that the world is perfect when it is far from it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57491.44
ETH 3031.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38