Happy Lag B'Omer! First day of counting the Omer

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Lag B'Omer marks the death of Rabbi Shimon bar Yochai and the 33rd day to count the Omer.

The period for counting the Omer is considered a time for inner growth as the various gates in The Tree of Life are contemplated. I am going to follow aish's site for the structure.


chesed.jpg

Week 1 - Chesed: Loving-Kindness

Day 1 ― Chesed of Chesed: Loving-kindness in Loving-kindness

Love is the single most powerful and necessary component in life. It is both giving and receiving. Love allows us to reach above and beyond ourselves, to experience another person and to allow that person to experience us. It is the tool by which we learn to experience the highest reality ― God. Examine the love aspect of your love.

Ask yourself: What is my capacity to love another person? Do I have problems with giving? Am I stingy or selfish? Is it difficult for me to let someone else into my life? Am I afraid of my vulnerability, of opening up and getting hurt?

Exercise for the day: Find a new way to express your love to a dear one.

***

What is my capacity to love another person?
If we were to define 'love' by any of these definitions, I would say; my capacity present and potent.

Do I have problems with giving? Am I stingy or selfish?
Not when I am actively managing my karma in line with Cosmic Law.

Is it difficult for me to let someone else into my life?
Yes and no, depends on the context.

Am I afraid of my vulnerability, of opening up and getting hurt?
Nope! I enjoy adventures.

Find a new way to express my love for a dear one...
I think I'll innovate the way I entertain my cats.

Sort:  

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @zetetrahedron369!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36