You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Feel-Good and Be Well with Gratitude

in #psychology7 years ago

I am an absolute stickler for manners and find gratitude a really good quality. I have always been complimented on my manners but I find quite a lot that manners, much like compliments are not always well received..... there are countless occasions this week where I have shown gratitude and have quite a rude response.... something like.... you dont have to thank me.... I didnt have a choice (but to help). So although I feel warm and fuzzy inside when I get a positive response to my display of gratitude, i find more and more let down when others are rude..... Doesn't put me off despite not always receiving the response that I would like. Great blog xxx

Sort:  

you dont have to thank me....

LOL, that one indicates a false-modesty or false-humility of sorts. No one has to thank anyone for anything. We do it though because it ameliorates social interactions and gains positive feedback ;) So telling someone they did not have to thank someone is a moot point.

And the "i had no choice" is like passive aggressive or something. I didn't want to do it, but I did it anyways, it wasn't something I wanted to do for you so don't thank me for that... As opposed to being thanked for doing something willingly.

Thanks for the feedback, good things to recall hehe.

It does sound like you feeling put off by what they are saying.

One thing I have been practicing is not letting those kind of things get to me. I don't always succeed in this practice, but I think that if you accept that people don't owe you anything, it prevents people from derailing your day. I used to ruminate over these things a lot but I learned that it can be a waste of time that distracts me from thinking about my goals and projects or just being happier in general.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66975.17
ETH 2594.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67