You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Move forward by moving yourself forward...

in #psychology6 years ago

We all have turning points in the flow of our lives and relationships. Some of those events are gradual changes not even apparent at the time, much like a ship turning gradually in the night. Others are sharply defined events like the shattering of glass or a car crash, or having a spouse informing you that he or she is leaving. When the event happens, the act of recovering often takes more mental energy and resources than we have access to. Making it through to the "other side" can require us to become someone we were not, and that alone can require additional mental resources.

You and your spouse were fortunate to have each other for mutual support and to work together on recovering your stability and perspective. I am impressed by your honesty in recounting a very difficult time in your life, and knowing that you recovered gives hope to others who also may be working through a life crisis.

Thank you for sharing.

Sort:  

Thanks @willymac, there was a time when I wouldn't speak of it as to do so seemed to bring back the emotion of it however now I look at it differently, almost like an initiation of sorts. You are right though, I am fortunate to have had my wife beside me. I'm fortunate in general to have her. I've posted about her a little here and there. No one will ever really know just how important she is to me though.

Thanks for commenting mate.

A few years ago, I went through a dark time and wrote about it as i traversed it in an effort to keep myself stable. I can't and don't talk about it yet, nor can I read what I wrote. Fear of reading something I created sounds strange, but some things are just not ready to be in the sunlight yet. And yes, I can understand how absolutely irreplaceable a wife on many years can be. Don't lose her , mate.

You make a good point @willymac, about not reading what you wrote, especially if it's still raw inside. I didn't have steemit when I went through the scenario and so wasn't really writing that much at all so have no record of it other than my memory. Once I dealt with it though i sort of drew a line beneath it and moved forward. It still comes back now and then but is not as raw and hurtful. I let go of the anger also, that was just unproductive.

Hopefully you manage to work your way through your emotions and manage to rise Phoenix-like from the ashes.

Thanks, @galenkp, there are times when writing about something is the only way to build some sense into it and gain some control over the tsunami of events and emotions; none of which contained any anger. Everything will look different tomorrow, and I cannot change yesterday, so all is left is to try and make sense out if today. It gets easier with time as the past fades.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43