You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 40 | How do You React to Your Own Negative Thoughts?

in #psychology6 years ago

Interesting take on two differing coping methods. I definitely fall into the “ruminator” and “cognitive inflexibility” categories. Seeing and hanging onto the negative puts me in control of the situation, doing this seems to keep disappointment at a distance. Rigidity helps me maintain structure which is necessary for survival, being out of control is a major stressor.
Not a great way to live, sometimes it’s mere survival, but I have medication resistant MDD along with PTSD. Interesting post😉

Sort:  

Hello there @walkthisway :)

Thanks for coming around to read and comment.

You seem to have your system in place! Understanding your own methods of working things out shows a good level of self-awareness. I, myself, am a little set in my own ways too. But, the way I found to not be restricted to them is to look ahead, and reflect about alternatives in advance in relation to stressors.

All the best to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66