Darkness Inside Me: When “Kindling” Becomes a Flame

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

It’s a darkness you can’t think your way out and you can’t wish it away. You can only numb yourself so much before it begins to devour your humanness. Major Depressive Disorder is not something that will just pass on its own, like say having a bad cold. It has to be de-stigmatized and treated like the real disease it’s always been. It’s a long difficult process that requires hard work.


74DCA661-5AEB-465D-A572-D565371C5BEA.jpeg


Milton's description of Hell in "Paradise Lost" seems appropriate when putting together the words to describe depression.

No light; but rather darkness visible
Served only to discover sights of woe,
Regions of sorrow, doleful shades, where peace
And rest can never dwell, hope never comes
That comes to all, but torture without end
Still urges, and a fiery deluge, fed
With ever-burning sulphur unconsumed.


D6855C1A-1E26-4A01-9C26-2ABE70E7F412.jpeg
Image

I don’t like to quote stats, but the American Psychological Association (APA) believes full fifty percent of all cases of mental illness begin by age 14, and three-quarters by age 24.

Mine appeared to begin right on schedule at age 14. By 15 my descent into hell had begun. Shortly after 15th my birthday I became just another statistic in the Department of Education’s tomes of high school dropouts, flailing in the wind. No plan, lost in the wilderness of life.

Just what happened, nature or nurture? I’m not certain whether it’s genetics or some other organic cause. My leanings are it’s a combination of genes and environment.

There are some risk factors predisposing people to MDD. Sometimes chemicals in the brain are out of whack. Genetics. Low self-esteem. Being easily overwhelmed by stress. Being pessimistic. Continuous exposure to violence, neglect, abuse or poverty can make some people more vulnerable to depression.

So why me? Why not...!

I was born into a family with two loving parents who appeared to take good care of me. My extended family were good people and we lived in a small town of 7,000. We had a house, food, family get togethers, it seemed life was good. As a child much of the time I was sick, I was small for my age. I filled out and become healthy during my teenage years, about the same age I began experimenting with alcohol and drugs.

Some years later my grandmother told me my great grandfather had committed suicide by shotgun, leaving his wife with 7 children. My uncle had a severe nervous breakdown not just once, but twice. My mothers sister also had a break with reality and her daughter (my 1st cousin) has mental illness. There’s also depression and alcoholism on both sides of the family.

The deck seemed stacked against me from the beginning.


35A776BE-3D6D-4412-8913-BAF09D9BCED2.jpeg


Then there’s always “Denial”, the defense mechanism that allowed me to avoid the reality of the situation by just refusing to acknowledge it. Denial and depression seemed to be my life plan until around age 30.

The official DSM definition of depression is that it’s an emotional state characterized by feelings of sadness, emptiness, and/or tearfulness. A condition characterized by pervasive dysphoric mood, loss of interests, and inability to experience pleasure.

Other even more disturbing symptoms are withdrawal, loss of interest in others, a drop in functioning or difficulty performing familiar tasks.
Difficulty concentrating and heightened sensitivity to sights, sounds, smells or touch.
Avoidance of over-stimulating situations, apathy, feeling disconnected (sense of unreality).
Illogical or “magical” thinking.
Nervousness and suspiciousness of others.
Uncharacteristic or peculiar behavior.
Sleep or appetite changes or decline in personal care.
Mood changes and dramatic shifts in feelings.

If there were boxes to check, I would score a perfect 100.


Recently, I heard about a controversial hypothesis called “Kindling.” Repeated weak excitation of brain structures progressively increases sensitivity to the same stimulation. Over time, this can lower the threshold required to trigger episodes. Meaning it takes less and less stimulation to elicit a negative reaction (sounds similar to PTSD.)


5C97B63A-5414-445F-A244-987A99124BF0.jpeg


Creative types seem to have more bouts with depression. Some of my favorite authors suffered from depression - Virginia Woolf, Ernest Hemingway, Sylvia Plath, William Styron, the list is very long.

So, what’s my point.

THIS

As people we often see the world for its possibilities rather than its realities. Creatives see the world in many different facets and find it hard to keep a focus, to see things through, and ruminating endlessly about the smallest things.

Cycles of depression and creativity, expansive thinking and self-destructive behavior. One thing is true, if you have major depression, you have to get damn creative to survive it.
DC745B9E-18E6-45A1-86DC-A414BF1F6E24.png
Image Source

Sort:  

I do not personally suffer from depression. I do have family members who do. You do have to become creative to survive it. Well said and well written. Thank you for sharing this!

Thanks a lot your comments are appreciated.

Great post about major depressive disorder. It does make me sad that you wrestle with your depression. I can appreciate how difficult it is to work so hard to make a difference in ones outlook. Sometimes medication is part of the answer too. Thanks for this. I know there are others that can relate as well. 🐓🐓

Thanks for the read and resteem. I thought it was important to be open, you never know when it might make a difference in someone’s life.

I have learned so much on steemit. If it helps one person you did a great post.

This is huge! Thanks for sharing with us. There is so much so many people don't understand about mental illness, and the path to recovery is so incredibly difficult.

No one is immune to mental illness, my step-mother went through a super tough time at age 41... so it really can affect anyone/everyone.

Not to be pedantic, but if you could hyperlink all the sources to all your images, that'd help the various curation services pick up this post. Thanks thanks!

Thanks man! Some of the most unlikely people are stricken, people you think have it all and are happy. Depression does not discriminate, way too many still feel its shameful or weak.

Congratulations @walkthisway! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74