MIXED EMOTIONS: Complaining About Complaints

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)


Some Days Seem to Be More Miserable than Others when We Tend to Complain...


                                                                        Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash 

The people that we love and love us dearly, complain about a whole lot of different things that trouble them, making us feel anxious and troubling us too, on a great level. A few months back, I experienced some kind of misfortune in my life and I had to move out in order to stop complaining, staying away from my hometown and leaving my own house, probably forever I’d say.

Now, I can see my family at most once a week and - trust me when I say that - they are very nice people. However, sometimes it is better to keep your distance even from your own family, letting love and happiness dominate easier the good standing relationship that you have with them… 


 In the Zone of Parental Complaints


                                                                 Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash 


My mother usually complains about the fact that I do not eat often and big meals and according to her I am very skinny which I am not ... yes, my diet is quite healthy - I have a tendency for high cholesterol - so I can neither consume big meals or even have as a meal whatever I want.

No matter how much I try to eat properly, she still believes that I don’t…

She also complains that I spend far too many hours in front of my computer screen and that I do not sleep as much as I should because I work until very late at night.

Yes, I do spend a lot of hours because that’s my work. However, she still believes that what I do, is not an actual work since I do not visit an office on a daily basis, smiling silly to customers and bosses who would abuse me mentally or spiritually.


Eggs and Oranges and an Apple


                                                                                    Photo by Cala on Unsplash 


Every time that I visit my parents, my joy turns into misery, because I am 35 years old and I receive for at least 10 minutes a serious bombardment of questions like: would you like me to peal an apple for you or squeeze a couple of oranges for you or perhaps you’d want me to boil you an egg? And since my answer is negative, most of the time, I also hear the observation - conclusion that I never eat, I am way too skinny and I will end up in a hospital deathbed. 

Note #1: I talk to my mother on the phone, almost on a daily basis and every time she asks if I have eaten anything I have to reply as fast as I can, otherwise she may conclude that I probably have not eaten anything at all day and someone will find me somewhere in a random corner lying helpless and unconscious.

Note #2: Right now I am at my parents house and my mother claims that she is squeezing 2 oranges to make juice for herself ... and she’s asking me again ... whether I’d prefer to eat an egg or drink a homemade orange juice ... and you are guessing right because I will drink the orange juice and I will eat that egg, so that I will finally offer her some piece of mind...

Note #3: Still, I wonder how could it be possible that I have not yet suffered some kind of eating disorder?


                                                                               Photo By RyanMcGuire Pixabay

  

My father complains because he thinks that every time we speak to each other as a family, we mock him.

Let’s say that I have a usual chit-chat with my mother or someone else from my family – fortunately, my mother also talks about other stuff other than just food – my father assumes that we create some kind of conspiracy behind his back…to destroy him…

Note #1: While being a retired Special Forces soldier, my father did a lot of parachute jumps, which resulted in a high rate of deafness on both his ears - around 90%. Now, he has a serious disability which is not a joke and he firmly refuses to wear his expensive hearing aids. So, most of the time, he either considers that we talk about him or that we mock him like bullies.

Note #2: He has been a retired Special Forces army soldier for way too many years and he has finally ended up working as a professional cook for a large state organization. I’d say that me and my father have a lot in common in the area of alternative professions.

Note #3: Complaints are like balls that are thrown from one to the other, so my mother complains to my father that I do not eat as much as I should, my father complains in the same way that she does and I end up listening to the same things all over again about eating ect…it's like a disease or something that spreads all around.


 Brotherly complaints


                                                                                   Photo By Pexels Pixabay


My brother complains that his job is too hard because he has to travel every day several miles to go where he works and he also claims that it's too much for him that he has to work on weekends from the morning up until late in the evening.

However, he does nothing to change this unpleasant situation which he has been going through for so many years.


  Friends’ complaints


                                                                               Photo by geralt Pixabay


My single friends complain that they have not been able to find the perfect man yet.

Good luck!

How many times and what numbers should I play to hit some kind of lottery that it doesn’t even exist?

Note #1: Every time they meet a new one and they realise the fact that something appears to be going terribly wrong, they tend to claim that nobody is perfect, so why not giving a chance to a new relationship just in case?

In other words, why not trying to rationalise a situation which just doesn’t make any kind of sense?

Note #2: I am sorry but there is no perfect man as there is no perfect woman unless they hide somewhere like some weirdo freaks inside tree hollows, waiting from us to call their perfect name to come out.

Note #3: I love you because you are my best friend, this is why I have told you so many times that you are not going to meet a serious person for a serious relationship neither in social media nor inside a night club which is frequented by an average age of 18 year old children!

Note #4 should be the most useless information of this article: I'm not single and I'm not perfect either... now that I come to think about it, maybe this information is not so useless.


How beautiful life would be without any complaints… 


Our life is not perfect, but at least we are surrounded by people who love us, even if they make us feel mentally or spiritually tired but wait a minute, what am I doing here?

I am complaining!

I complain about all those who complain to me, so I believe that it’s time that I stopped complaining about complaints and in the next article I will refer to the way in which each person, express their own complaints according to their zodiac sign.


                                                                    Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash


Thank you for reading about the complaints of my complaints.

Now I'm going to eat my egg, drink my orange juice and I suggest that you do the same so that you will be able to live a long, happy, healthy life, hopefully managing to stay away from any hospitals or deathbeds…


                                                                          Follow me and my posts

Sort:  

yes...I usually ask God to stand between me and people who are complaining so their negative energy slides off me like teflon...and I just smile my "customer service" smile that I learned working in customer service, and eventually they shut up and talk of other things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52