You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Santa: You Better Watch Out!

Kinda bummed I missed this until now. It's pretty amazing the lengths your folks went to, to sell you the Santa story. I find it odd they wouldn't have realized how devastating it would be to you to find out the truth.

It's the equivalent of losing your religion. I can imagine how fluid your worldview must have been as a result, and how deeply it must have impacted you, at 8.

It is also strange how sometimes kindnesses aren't kindnesses at all, and how the cold hard truth can be the kindest tale of all.

It took me a long time to realize that some folks lied to me because they cared about me, and it seemed to them to be better for me to not know the truth. I still can't resolve their interior landscape, however.

I just can't imagine how it must feel to prefer to be in denial, to not know the truth, rather than face the real world. What a scary place it must be for them, and how ill-equipped they must feel to handle it.

Thanks!

Sort:  

I find it odd they wouldn't have realized how devastating it would be to you to find out the truth.

I don't think they even considered that. It was fun for them and that's all that mattered. Life's hard. Better to live in a fantasy world for as long as you can.

My dad died that next summer. I was pissed at my parents and so I felt that maybe it was my fault. I thought God was punishing me for throwing him out with all the other fantasies. So I made him a deal. Bring back my dad for my mom (who was now a basket case) and take me back. No answer was his stern reply. I've since forgiven everyone involved. Even the fantasy players.

I just can't imagine how it must feel to prefer to be in denial, to not know the truth, rather than face the real world.

That's the vast majority, isn't it? Cryptokitties anyone?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67100.18
ETH 2610.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67