You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fan Death - A Curious Superstition

in #psychology7 years ago

I've read about such belief once in a kpop site and I found it unbelievable enough to disregard it especially since the site is also known to sensationalize a bit. I think it's a matter of coincidence really since a lot of people from many countries sleep with fans on in a closed room and there isn't anything like this. It just doesn't make sense. It's like someone in walking on someone holding a bloody knife near a dead body and because it looks incriminating, he's the automatic suspect. Even though he probably panicked and pulled the knife out to "help".

Sort:  

Yes I agree it is hard to believe - sometimes superstitions don't really make sense although normally they relate to bad luck.

Don't every pull the knife out to help - it may actually be keeping the person alive and stopping a catastrophic haemorrhage.

Lol I picked a horrible example although it does happen. And I'm not calm enough to stay conscious if I ever see a person with a knife sticking out of his body @.@

It is almost a reflexive response to someone who is wounded to pull the knife out - I remember a senior doctor who once did this even though logically he knew he shouldn't have. The patient died because the knife was preventing a catastrophic bleed. Once it was out the patient died before he could be moved to the operating theatre (even though it was one floor away).

Oh that's so sad :| Hopefully, I never have to see anyone with a knife in them.

Well if you do don't pull it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82