You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Aesop's Fable of the Ants and the Grasshopper: What Motivates Your Decisions?

in #psychology7 years ago

Middle to ant, depending on the situation. But it would be nice to have moments of making a decision and being able to move on if it doesn't pan out the way I want it, too. It would surely spare me from a lot of stressing and overdone analyzing of where it could've been better. Just over a week ago, someone from my support group told me another one of us died. That person was telling us before how we should live in the moment so a lot from the group were being snide about her death. Something about her not listening to (medical) advices and pushing herself to the limit despite being sick. She posted about her travels up to the 30th and 2 days later, she was gone. I guess what I'm trying to say is that there are situations that push/limit people and they end up developing the mindsets that suit their situation. Sure there are people who go against it like what happened to that someone in my group. But overall, situations predispose/condition most people to fall in a certain category. Like how many of the financially challenged people here tend to be more of the ant because they rarely have an easy safety net in place and the well-off people have this YOLO mindset. But that's only the financial aspect. I'm guessing a lot from my group are wishing we could afford to disregard our situation and just live in the moment for the sake of our sanity ._."

Sort:  

YOLOs have a weak fallacious axiom as a foundation for their lives. It's often an excuse for not being responsible for decisions or mistakes. Danger ahead, precaution... bah.. YOLO... go for it! lol

It's often an excuse for not being responsible for decisions or mistakes.

A form of escaping a reality they either can't accept or can't move on from, I suppose :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56