Do you want to help **All The Things** ?!

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

I had a chat with a friend of mine recently about volunteering. She is a long term volunteer at a local animal shelter, and she loves doing it. However, there are lots of other volunteers that come and basically worry and stress about doing everything to the point that they usually burn themselves out pretty quickly. In my friend's experience, these people make an already challenging situation much worse. Sure, they're there to help - but their worrisome attitude is pervasive, and not very helpful in the bigger picture.

Aerial08.jpg

source

So what can you do about it?

When I listen to people now, I notice all of the messages that the emotions are bringing to the table. Listening to my friend, I realized that this type of situation is not necessarily limited to volunteer activities, but to all places where a person is trying to be useful or of service in the world.

How can you make yourself useful in the world, without getting burned out?

In tomorrow's Emotion Integration we will talk about this topic. Join me to learn about what emotions are involved, and what skills and insights you can learn to help you avoid the slippery slope.

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 2.21.33 PM.png

Thursdsays at 11am EST/4pm UTC. Join us at the PAL net discord audience channel for chat, or just listen at mspwaves.com


Thanks for visiting!

rsz_uniwhisp02.png Logo courtesy of @theDGT

For posts on emotions, nature, poetry, and scotch,

come follow my blog!

Sort:  

very interesting! keep steeming!

Interesting @uniwhisp. I have been both a volunteer, and in my last job, a volunteer manager running teams of volunteers in conservation/horticultural activities. Funnily enough, I learnt in both roles that I have a high stress reaction + most definitely get the burn out reaction. I wonder if I can listen to the discord show in retrospect? I could most probably benefit greatly from listening to try to avoid the slippery slope of burn out ;-) Thanks for sharing this article and for your meaningful comments on my posts :-)

Hey raj! Thanks for your comment. I'm about to post the show recording. I think we got a little distracted during it, but it's a subject I return to often. If you do listen, let me know what you think. Thanks!

Too bad I wasnt able to join this. That is me you are describing. I worey about social issues, inequality, discrimination, destruction of nature and spirituality. I have no idea how to release them except through my social media acct. Would have loved to hear the implications of my personality.

Factually i'm not into psychology but your post has given an insight on emotions...
I'm looking forward to the other part ... I'm grateful for you enlightenment....
@uniwhisp.

Thanks @emmanuelacheamp! I'll be posting the show recording this weekend.

Oops okay. Will be waiting for the recording. Would you be so kind as to tell me how to listen to it? Im kind of new here and im a bit lost

If you click on the video above, you should be able to listen - it's a youtube video. The other links from past shows have the same in those posts. Listen to a few and tell me what you think! Thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87