Why Haven't You Achieved Your Goals (And How You Could Achieve Them)

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Specific goal.jpg

SETTING SMART GOALS

We’re almost there to second half of 2018, and I’m sure that most of us here have set our sights on our new goals for this year. However, for some people, setting goals could prove to be an overwhelming task. Many others set goals and then forget about it until the next year. And then there’s some who don’t even bother setting any goal for themselves. I believe that goals are important to our lives; hence, I will first highlight the importance of setting goals. Then, I will share to you some tips which you could use to set effective goals.


The Importance of Setting Goals

Why is setting goals important? Setting goals is fundamental to one’s long-term success because it is like our very own life roadmap. Goals bring us to where we want to be in the future just like how a roadmap brings us from point A to point B.

Think about it, if we do not have any goals, chances are we do not know what we want in life. It’s like getting lost in the woods, without any direction to follow.

goals.png


SMART Goal System

As mentioned earlier, many people set goals for themselves, but how many of these goals are actually realized? Many people still have goals which they set 10 years ago! I will share with you how to set goals effectively via the SMART goal system. Why SMART goal? By setting SMART goals, you’re actually making your roadmap to your destinations shorter and easier.

Setting SMART goals simply means the goals you set must satisfy the following SMART criteria:

Specific - Your goal must be as specific as possible. It must not be vague. Here’s some questions to guide you to set a specific goal:

What do I want to achieve?

Why is achieving this goal important for me?

Who do I want to become?

When do I want to achieve it?

Where is the location?

Measurable - You must be able to measure the progress of your goal. It has to be quantifiable. For example, if my goal is to be a millionaire, I’ll know that I’m halfway there when I have $500,000, and I have achieved my goal when I have $1,000,000.

Attainable - The keyword for this component is ‘resources’. An attainable goal simply means you can achieve that using the resources (time, money, energy) that you have which allow you to stay committed to achieving this goal.

Realistic - Try to set a goal which is neither too challenging nor too easy. It has to make you feel excited and challenged at the same time. It is good to set challenging goals for yourself, but if it’s too a challenging goal, you might be discouraged and give up after some time. Likewise, a very easy goal might make you lose interest, and you don’t feel much fulfilled achieving that goal. A simple tip to do this is to break down your primary goal into smaller milestones. Achieving these milestones is not as overwhelming as having to achieve the big goal in one shot. Once you achieve one milestone, you will feel more motivated and fired up to achieve the next milestones.

Timely - Many people set wonderful goals for themselves, but they often miss this out – the time component. It is important to set a time frame or deadline for your goal. I cannot stress enough the importance of setting a time frame for each of your goals. Without a time frame, there is no sense of urgency and you might delay your efforts to achieve that goal. “Oh, I’ll do it later. Next week. Next month.” Some people even forget about it! This is why many people still dream of the same thing for the past 10 years!

Milestones.jpg

The journey of a thousand miles begins with the first step


Take Massive Action

That’s the SMART goal system for you. Now is the time to take some action. Start by identifying the goals and then write it down in a big piece of paper, and place it at somewhere near to you so you could read it all the time. Remember, nothing gets done unless you take action, because the bridge between dreams and reality is ACTION!!


Thanks for taking your time to read my post. If you liked this post, be sure to hit the 'Upvote' button and follow me to receive more updates. If you have anything to share, feel free to let me know in the comments section below.

This post is also available at my website at https://tzeyang.com/why-havent-you-achieved-your-goals-and-how-you-could-achieve-them/

Sort:  

oh i really love psychology and everything about people and why act how we act, so this really interesting to read too:)

It helps me lot. Thanks for the good work. Keep it up.

I'm glad that it helps! Cheers

Interesting one great steemian.

@chikaguide thanks for your comment

Nice content. Thanks for sharing!

Interesting post. This information makes you think about a lot of things

Glad that it helped somehow

I really liked your effort in proper formatting with this article! Great job, and welcome to Steemit!

Your comment means a lot to me. Gracias!

Nice article, one of the latest thing I did with my own road to my goals, was setting up a timeline. It was something I had problems for the looongs time. I wish I read it earlier:D good job!

Thanks for your comment! I hope you'll achieve your goals sooner. Just have to be consistent and never give up :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

voted already, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81