Psychology, Philosophy and Poetry

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Hello Fellow Steemians! (Steemers, Steemites etc.)

So before diving into the next piece, I want to explain to you what was going through my mind at the time. During my studies in college, I started to find myself going into what you might call a pre-adult life crisis. It seemed as though every day was a challenge and it was as if the entire world was against me. So, in an effort to try to get my mind right, I started to head to the library to try to learn about different subjects that caught my interest. It wasn't long before I stumbled upon the section that could aid me in figuring out who I was. It wasn't until I started to learn the basics of human psychology that I began to fall in love with myself and all of my idiosyncrasies.

It wasn't long after the initial breakthrough that I decided to switch gears and learn more about philosophy. I started to realize that there wasn't a great disparity between the two subjects, especially when it comes to the human brain (as explained in "From Philosophy to Psychology"). I love the fact that the psychologist have helped us to answer questions that philosophers posed hundreds of years ago, but I feel as though this has hindered our critical thinking skills and personal growth. In this fast-paced society we are now compelled to look up the answer instead of taking the time to try to answer it ourselves. With that in mind, I urge you to come up with your own questions about life and find your own answers.


In an effort to pay homage to both psychology and philosophy, I leave you with this poem. Enjoy!

Why are we naturally afraid of the dark?

When questions beckon, do we answer the call?

Why do we decide not to sleep anymore....

In fact, Why do we decide at all?

What lies beyond what is known?

What causes us to rise and fall?

What helps us in times of trouble?

Why do we learn we learn at all?

Why do why not see that there are more than four walls?

-Tru Motiv


Feel free to check out my page and follow for more interesting content. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68547.43
ETH 2527.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53