You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict #24 | Is Psychology a Science?

in #psychology7 years ago

I would agree that psychology is a science. Any part of a discipline that uses experiments along with rigorous statistical analysis of data can be considered as scientific. However, I also think science is not the only useful method to aquire knowledge which is a view held by many people today who subscribe to a naturalistic view of the world. I believe earlier psychologists used these methods and while they might not have used rigorous statistics they still made contributions to knowledge. I think is it this latter part of psychology that makes some skeptical.

Sort:  

Hi @timspeer, thank you so much for stopping by and commenting! Yes, I fully agree that early psychologist are the ones to blame for this skepticism :D but, as I said before, it has been nearly a century since behaviorists brought a measurable and analytical approach to the field! My point is, how long more do people need? On the other hand, when one sees that psychology nowadays is still largely associated with the theoretical and subjective methods of psychoanalyses one understands the confusion a little better!
Happy 2018 Tim :)

Is this where 'art' comes in? I tend to think that art and science are complementary ways that the mind works to acquire and apply knowledge. Sometimes it is a matter of perspective, but I tend to think that most human endeavour can be viewed as both art & science, at least the ones that seem to excel in being creative/innovative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60328.18
ETH 2426.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48