You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict #24 | Is Psychology a Science?

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

I get that question a lot too as a Psychology major. Often, they assume psychology could just be AB rather than BS (mine's BS). Then I always put in mind that when I was a Philosophy major, philosophy was even a science and not just a science but THE mother of all sciences as many scholars would say. Therefore, it was easy to reply a quick burn to those questioning the science nature of my psychology major.

However, with those experiments you cited,
it just showed how psychology is really science-y (Skinner's has always fascinated me btw). I mean, there's also the ever controversial experiments like that of Little Albert. As painful as it may sound, it's still "in the name of science".

Love this long post, didn't notice it was really long until I made it to the end. Great points!

Sort:  

Hi @thegiamarcos, thank you so much for taking the time to comment. I suppose this is a question all of us face. I like the point you made about philosophy too. Yeah! poor little Albert :/ the old behaviourists were a bit cruel! But, then ... they were the ones who wanted to bring a more scientific aspect to psychology!
Happy 2018 :)

Yes, it's a big question to one's morals haha. Oh, happy 2018 too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60384.14
ETH 2591.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55