Psychology Talk Series # 12: How Dreams Predict Our Future

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

lol.jpg


When I was 8 years old, my grandmother once said I moved spontaneously with an absolute idea of the future. Back then, I did not completely understand what it meant and just chose to not take it seriously. That was until I went on with my life and started having dreams that predicted near future events in my life even of others close to me. I thought it was female intuition--being able to sense what may happen--but as a psychology major, I knew there was some other explanation for this...


The Collective Unconscious


Our minds have an amazing way of picking up almost everything around us from something that really fascinates us down to something that we even hardly notice. When we dream, this takes place in the Theta Brainwave State wherein we are able to receive a lot of data from our subconscious such as our inner desires we try to suppress in our daily lives. As we get deeper into the Delta State our minds then turn passive--absorbing or processing everything in our current lives that may include all sorts of things like problems, the way people in our lives act and how it makes us feel, the places we enjoyed visiting and even those we have been dying to visit, etc.

According to the "superstitious" psychologist Carl Jung--as Sigmund Freud described him--this whole seemingly future-predicting dreaming is called the collective unconscious. He stated that this amazing part of our mind is something one must keep in touch with as it does provide us guidance in our lives.

I had a dream of cheating on my partner with a guy I've never seen before but definitely struck my fancy. I remember waking up from that dream hating myself for being a cheater there which I am not (I'd rather be honest to my partner about the motive rather than hide it which at that time I never really had in real life). Then the following days, I had a dream that my partner wanted to say something he just couldn't say--something was troubling him. Oddly enough, I woke up in the middle of the night at another time to find myself half-asleep connecting those two dreams. The following days, I knew my partner was indeed trying to say something now in real life. We then agreed to opening our relationship. Turns out, he was also thinking about the same idea just like how I have analyzed the relation of those dreams.

From that one can say I had indeed tapped into my collective unconscious that bears all those energy I sense in my interaction with people, in my dealing of different life events, and those feelings may it be of others or my own that I definitely know I don't get too sensitive about when my eyes are literally open to just seizing more life opportunities.

It's also funny, I remember in between those days of dreaming about those things, I had a dream about my partner buying some kind of desktop, and shortly after that, he sent me a picture of his newly purchased iMAc... Should I be a fortune teller? HAHA! (Let me know in the comments, I might read your energy or something through that LOL)












reference:

img sources:

Sort:  

loved your post @thegiamarcos. Psychology is truly an interesting field.

Thank you! I'm hope you're following for more of these awesome info! :)

It's the natural system .god all time correction this time ...Here in this place will be systematically so seriously ...
This is the special power of psychology ..It's really awesome aceknowledgement frequently
..
Thanks for sharing your valuable post ..
I follow you regularly .
Upvoted and resteemited

What an awesome article. I smile were you mentioned you had a dream with a guy you have not seen.

Nothing more exciting than a mysterious beautiful creature...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49