You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let’s talk about panic attacks

in #psychology6 years ago

Hi @dedicatedguy I have had this misfortune of experiencing 2 panic attacks in my life. The second time I was driving in peak hour traffic when it occured and my reaction was to pull off to the side. For a moment I thought I was having a heart attack as I had chest pains and tingling up my arms and hands. But the overarching symptoms were to reiterate your list:

  • Sense of terror, or impending doom or death
  • Feeling sweaty or having chills
  • Breathing difficulties
  • Feeling a loss of control

In addition, there was a feeling of being detached from oneself, like looking from the outside. I think that feeling gives rise to the terror and loss of control.

Sort:  

I am sorry for that mate, from what you are telling me it was very intense.

Why do you triggered that attack? Perhaps the traffic?

If I had to guess, it might have been caffeine (I drink a lot of coffee and coke - which I cut down on subsequently and never had a repeat incident).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46