You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 46 |The Thinking, Emotional & Behaviour Patterns that Characterise Us.

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Thank you abigail! I did the test and nothing too interesting to report as I was pretty much around the median for everything, with maybe Intellect/Imagination being a slightly above the norm and Extroversion being well down. None of these are a real surprise and pretty match how I and others see myself.

I do have one question, what are your thoughts on Meyers-Briggs as alternative to the "Big 5" test?

Sort:  

Hello Terry 😊

Thank you for your interesting question :) You know, I am a big fan of Carl Jung's (whose theory the Myers-Briggs' test is constructed on). However, due to the deficiency seen in the psychometric aspects of it (e.g low reliability and validity) I would not go for the MBTI as an alternative to the Big Five.

I find important to say here that studies show that the 4 dimensions seen in the Meyers-Briggs can be integrated into the Big Five traits (with the exception of neuroticism). Perhaps this is why the Meyers-Briggs is still fairly popular in business and counselling settings (?).

But again, the five-factor model is a broader and more scientifically accepted framework :)

Thank you so much for stopping by!

I agree with your response, @abigail-dantes; the Meyers-briggs is quite an impressive product to have been created by laymen housewives vs clinicians. When I consider the differences, the psychometrics are certainly deterrent to selection of evidence-based practice. I also think the absence of the neuroticism component is significant for getting a full picture of personality, but maybe those agreeable ladies were hoping to avoid the conflict of bringing awareness to a dimension with negative connotation ;*

I also think a point that is not expressed often under the umbrella of personality is it's dynamic quality. You alluded to it when you invited us to discuss where we'd like to improve; any assessment will only provide a snapshot of our behaviors and well-being. The beauty is that it's all the sum of our personally-chosen responses and intrepretations within our lives that we can change at any time. Habit formation ain't easy, but it is simple--practice is everything.

High quality and accessible content, thanks for sharing!

This is a truly wonderful comment @thedreamsteem. Thank you for sharing your views of the MBTI here with us. I enjoyed reading your perspective on it very much, and couldn't help giggling about the 'agreeable ladies' ! :D

It would be interesting to write a post on the observations you made on your second paragraph! Only this morning I was talking to my husband about habit formation :)

Thank you for the kind, encouraging words!
All the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10